The Food Diary Game | Season 11 | July 28th - 2022 | B-Day Cake for My Sister :p | #burnsteem25

in SteemFoods2 years ago (edited)

Hi, dear Steemians and SteemFoodies :)

Hope you're all doing well. I'm sharing my Day 28 of The Food Diary Game, Season 11, from the #SteemFoods community, led by @steemitfoods and @alikoc07.

image.png

Today we celebrated my sister's birthday. I made the cake and brought some wine. The day was quiet and besides the cake, I didn't have much to do in the kitchen.

Before I got to drink my first coffee of the day, I had already made the dough for the arepas with would eat for breakfast and had cleaned and stored the fish our favorite seller saved for us.

image.png

Then I made the birthday cake I would give to my sister in the evening.

image.png

I also made a little one for us at home.

image.png

Below you can see how soft the cake was. It was yogurt sponge cake with milk caramel pastry cream and grated coconut on top.

I made the sponge cake with the following ingredients:

  • 1/2 cups olive oil
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 4 large eggs
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon lemon zest
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda + 1 tablespoon white vinegar
  • half a teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup yogurt

The procedure is quite simple. Just mix all ingredients, one by one, in the same order they appear. Get the batter in a 18'' baking pan, greased, and bake for 30 min at 250 degrees F.

After the cake was done, I had breakfast: fried eggs and arepas.

image.png

I added cheddar.

image.png

In the faternoon, I made red lentil soup for late lunch.

image.png

I sautéed bacon and onions, added the lentils and some bay leaves. When this was done, I added enough water, salt, and corn on the cob cut in pieces. Finally, I added diced ripe plantain.

image.png

I served it with grated feta cheese and pepperoncino. My husband ate his with black pepper instead.

image.png

I want to rescue two things from tonight: 1. the chicken empanadas were spectacularly tasty, due to the great amount of natural seasonings my sister used to cook the chicken breast filling: she used onion, aji jobito, red pepper, and lots of garlic. 2. This drink is excellent for adding pineapple, mango, apple and pieces of other fruits you like to make a very fun sangria. This one costs $4.10 at Rio Hypermarket.

image.png

These were the highlights of my food-day.
I hope you have delicious and healthy meals today in good company :)

image.png

Text and pictures are mine.

If any GIFs here, I have used Gifmaker

image.png

Thanks for the visit.

Sort:  
Loading...

Congratulations, your post has been upvoted by @dsc-r2cornell, which is the curating account for @R2cornell's Discord Community.

Curated by Blessed-girl

r2cornell_curation_banner.png

Enhorabuena, su "post" ha sido "up-voted" por @dsc-r2cornell, que es la "cuenta curating" de la Comunidad de la Discordia de @R2cornell.

Visit our Discord - Visita nuestro Discord

 2 years ago 

Thanks a lot for your consideration, @dsc-r2cornell & @R2cornell. Much appreciated :)

 2 years ago 

Hola amiga gracias por compartir esas maravillosas recetas , que por cierto son muy provocativas.

Saludos

 2 years ago 

Muchas gracias por tu visita y por los cumplidos, @mireyalongart. Saludos :)

 2 years ago (edited)

All the food looks yummy and the presentation looks tidy, thank you for sharing the recipe for the sponge cake, I'll try this at my home.

 2 years ago 

Hi, @jyoti-thelight :) I strongly recommend this sponge cake. It is so good even with no toppings at all. Thank you so much for your lovely words. Cheers!

 2 years ago 

Cake which you prepare in your home is really so soft and colourful.

Enjoy your day. Take care.

 2 years ago 

You're too kind, @lavanyalakshman :) Hope you can try this cake some day at home. Cheers!

 2 years ago 

Soon I try.

the cakes are very delicious and the healthy food served makes me really like it

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70744.80
ETH 3561.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.80