SteemFoods Shopping List | Season 1 |28-November-2021 | #Club75 | #sfcharity50pc | Two Venezuelan Cities, Three Stores, N Ways to Pay

in SteemFoods3 years ago (edited)

Hi, dear Steemians and SteemFoodies!

I could not miss this event. Today is the last day of Season 1, and I have prepared my first entry ever. It was impossible for me to write a note with the title SteemFoods Shopping List Event and date, but you can check out my receipts and see the date was today, November 28/2021. I also made sure to take enough selfies for you to be sure I was there buying the stuff on my shopping list :)

image.png

I share this post in English, from the #SteemFoods community, led by @steemitfoods and @alikoc07 on the occasion of the First Season of the SteemFoods Shoppin-List Event. You can learn more about it HERE.

50% of the rewards from this post will go to @sf-charity, so that I can help good deeds happen and help this great Community grow.

Today I visited 3 stores to get what was on my shopping list. In the end, I could not buy everything I needed, but I was happy to be able to buy what I most urgently needed before Monday.

Before I left Anzoátegui State, I made my shopping list. If I could find some of the articles at a local store, I'd take my chance. The rest I would buy in my hometown when I got there (in a couple of hours).

image.png

I marked an X next to the items I couldn't find by the time my shopping day was over.

1/3 Stores I visited: Más Por Menos

My sister drove me to Más Por Menos, a place of tradition which used to be Éxito, then became Abastos Bicentenario in the hands of the current Venezuelan Government. It is located in Puerto La Cruz.

image.png
image.png
Google Maps Free Image

Let me tell you about my experience here at Más Por Menos today.

The pet food section was smaller than expected.

image.png

And there was only the brand of food that I don't like for my cats, as it has a lot of coloring (Gatsy). So I didn't stop here for long and went to explore the store, which is quite large.

I found the cookie aisle and there was good variety and prices. I only bought Susy; I like to have these waffers at home when my comadrita visits me, as they are her favorite and she always has a nice detail for us when she comes over. I spoil her with pleasure.


image.png

Then I went for the longed for olives. They have excellent prices here. Serpis has excellent quality olives, and the price is quite fair; they always have them here.

image.png

Although they were not on my shopping list, I quickly reviewed the brands and prices of oils. It didn't take me long; I soon discovered that the prices were not tempting. So I went on my way in search of powdered milk.


image.png

I bought a 900 gram bag of La Campesina; we really like the taste, texture and aftertaste of this milk powder.

Surprise: In this store, they gave me change in bolivars. I paid with a $20 bill and they gave me 13.18 bolivars. This was the amazing fact of my shopping day, since it is a problem for us Venezuelans to be given any kind of change (ever since bolivar devaluation went from grave to deathly, perhaps 6 years ago now).


image.png

I didn't stay long in this store, as I had to return to my hometown. After paying, I left and quickly got into the car. I was able to take this picture from the back seat of the car as I was leaving.


image.png

And here you are what I bought and the prices:


image.png

image.png

I spent 82.83 bolivars, which was approximately 17.7 dollars, or 2.5 SBD. They were paying 4.7 bolivars per 1 dollar in this store.


image.png

image.png

The Store 2/3 I visited was Farmatodo.

There I could buy some medicine for my dad, and I would take the opportunity to buy Maria crackers which I like to have at home. In this store, they are always fresh and at a good price.

image.png
image.png
Free Images by Google Maps

Here you are what I bought and the receipt.


image.png

I spent 40.87 bolivars, but only 19.37 bolivars were spent on food. They were paying 4.56 bolivars per 1 dollar in this store. Here I paid with my debit card.

image.png

image.png

The Store 3/3, Last One, Was New Market.


image.png

New Market is located on Gran Mariscal Avenue, in Cumaná city, Sucre State, my hometown.

image.png
image.png

They have excellent prices for fruit and vegetables, as well as a decent variety.

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

I think I found an apple variety today that I had never tried before. It is green, a little smaller and with a shinier peel than the regular ones plus little decolorations all around.

image.png

Although I couldn't find the lettuce variety we need for Hera and Cho (our couple of Goldfish) I did find the seeds for Paco and Patricia (our couple of parrots).

image.png

This is the lettuce I found. It's too thick for our fish but delicious for our salad. they call it "American" here.

image.png

Here you are what I bought, plus the receipt and prices below.

image.png

image.png

I spent 139.73 bolivars in this store, $30.44, or 3.35 SBD approx. They were paying 4.59 bolivars per 1 dollar here.


image.png

image.png

As you can see, Venezuelans need extra organization and mental agility when going food shopping, since in each establishment they pay different prices for 1 dollar. Many Venezuelans, like me, go shopping with dollars and bolivars in their wallets, with bolivars in their debit cards (or with digital bolivars or other currencies in digital wallets).

When we see the prices of different products, many times we have to ask which currency it is, dollars or bolivars as sometimes you just can't tell due to speculation on prices. Sometimes you see "5" as the price of a piece of cheese, for example, and you have to ask, "5 what, dollars or bolivars?"

Also, I can not finish this post without telling you that the owners of some establishments do not like you to take pictures of the merchandise, many give you a receipt only for what you have paid in bolivars and just leave aside the payment you have made in dollars (cash). Going out to buy food in Venezuela is an exercise of patience and tolerance, and this is if you are lucky enough to have sufficient money to cover the expenses so this is not another concern that adds up when analyzing prices, the currency rate, the exchange rate and how you are going to pay at the cashier.

Logo with Steemit.gif

Text and pictures are mine.

Thanks for the visit.

BannerSteemit 2.png

Join us on #SteemFoods!

Click here

Join Club5050, #Club75, or Club100, the intiatives by the Steemit Team, now on SteemFoods, too. Learn about them HERE!

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

Saludos amiga execelente día de compras el mercado se ve estupendo todo muy bonito y fresco.

Bendecidas compras, gracias por compartir bendiciones.

#venezuela

 3 years ago 

Hola,@dianag28. Fue un día afortunado. Muchos alimentos frescos y buenos precios. Saludos y gracias por la visita 🥰

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 56587.45
ETH 2991.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.15