How do you like your mashed potatoes? | Mashed Potatoes with Fresh Sauce :p

in SteemFoods2 years ago

Hi!

I hope you're doing great.

I have loved mashed potatoes for as long as I can remember. When I was a child, I liked my mashed potatoes to be lump-free and taste a lot like margarine. I remember not liking to see parsley or other herbs in my mashed potatoes at all, I didn't even like cheese in them. Over time, our tastes change and, hopefully, improve.

image.png

To make this mashed potatoes, I used 3 medium potatoes. This would be more than enough to fill the 18-inch pyrex where I would gratin it. I also used 3 tablespoons of margarine, one per potato, a pinch of salt and 2 tablespoons of powdered milk.

image.png

Today, for example, I decided to make a traditional recipe with a twist. I made it as soft as usual, which I achieve by adding a little of the water in which I boiled the potatoes.

Then I added cheddar cheese on top and took it to roast for 10 minutes at 250 degrees Fahrenheit. You do not need to grease the tray, but you must be careful that the cheese does not touch the edges or it will stick to the pyrex and washing it will be very tedious.

image.png

The melted and browned cheese adds extra flavor and contrast to the mashed potatoes.

image.png

For the fresh sauce pico de gallo, I used 1 large ripe tomato, half a red onion, a few sprigs of fresh cilantro and a juicy lemon I plucked from Hortensia, our faithful lemon tree.

image.png

I finely chopped the red onion, tomato and cilantro. Practically the same amount of each. Then I added a pinch of salt and the lemon juice. It is very simple and gives a fresh touch to the puree, which turns it into a delight.

image.png

I divided the mashed potatoes into four servings so I could save some for tomorrow, hopefully.

image.png

I served the sauce over the mashed potatoes. Both preparations made a dish on their own; I could have eaten that for lunch and would have been satisfied.

image.png

Making a mashed potatoes is easy, but not everyone knows how to make the mashed potatoes we love. When we go to a restaurant, we will surely have some criticism to make about the mashed potatoes. It's just like it is. In my case, I always like to vary the presentation of mashed potatoes at home; I think it's one of the most underutilized side dishes in home cooking.

I must say everything paired perfectly today. I added some chicken and bacon stew and some leftover palo a pique from yesterday's lunch.

image.png

Enjoy!

image.png

Unless specified, all images and text are my own. If any GIFs here, I have created them with Giphy.

image.png

Sort:  

I love mashed potatoes and I love the ones made by me. 😂

I don't like the taste of margarine much so I never thought of using it. I use butter instead and a lot of butter and in place of powdered milk, I used fresh milk. To keep the potatoes lump free, I boil them well until they are very soft and then mash them. They turn out very creamy and melt in mouth.

I saw on a cooking show, the professionals took the mashing very seriously. They pressed the potatoes into a sieve first which removed all the lumps.

 2 years ago 

It's good to know you put some love in making your mashed potatoes! I certainly love butter, and I use it too. For example, when making mashed potatoes with parsley and garlic, also when making it with Parmesan Cheese. Margarine is traditional, popular and inexpensive in my country, but only a few brands are delicious, Mavesa being one of them. I do like it very much, and I use it often. On the other hand, fresh milk is not available in my area, but sure it is so much better than powdered milk :p

A lump free serving of mashed potatoes is something I've never had in a restaurant in my country. To eat it like that, I must prepare it myself.

Glad to know you take mashed potatoes seriously 😁 @event-horizon. Thank you so much for your lovely visit 🥰

Yeah, that's the thing about margarine, very few brands make it delicious. I used to eat a lot in my teens but now I love everything buttery and also heard that the former is not so good for health. 🤨

Same is the case in my country, very few fine dines make it perfect.

And yeah, I do take mashed potatoes very seriously. 😀

 2 years ago 

Margarine vs butter. Long debate. Both make me buy new pants 😂

Surely it's yummy 😋

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60122.55
ETH 3199.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43