French Fries made with Squash

in SteemFoods4 years ago
Fresh from my Garden! This is my first try at making French Fries from the pumpkin. This was my friend’s suggestion, and I still have no idea how to do it. But if you think about it because squash is juicy like potatoes; then slice the potatoes on the same stick as the fries, dry them in the sun for 8 hours or more until its water is reduced. What I did was different to facilitate the drying of the pumpkin.

I used a stove to facilitate the drying of the squash. But I suggest drying the pumpkin in the sun. Because drying squash or potatoes in the heat of the sun is more effective due to the natural heat and also with the help of the wind.

I use pumpkin skins as soil fertilizer. The seeds, I dried for a while to replant in the ground.

This is how it looks like when you cut it into a stick. Do you know what's wrong with it? When you use a stove to dry potatoes or squash, make sure you have a strainer at the bottom to drip its juice or water. Don’t imitate what’s in the picture because that’s wrong. That's what I did.

If the squash is dry enough, refrigerate it for a while. Sprinkle with salt and it is ready to fry like potatoes. I hope you learned something new from what I shared. And again, don’t be afraid of cooking and discovering new dishes.

Sort:  
 4 years ago 

Thanks for sharing this @kennyroy I will have to try making this squash fries 🍟🍟🍟

Your welcome... 😉 Go, do it... ☺️

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64344.88
ETH 2629.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83