SteemFoods X Steemit Engagement Challenge Contest 2️⃣ | Who Is Your Favorite Chef 🧑‍🍳 in Your Family?

in SteemFoods2 years ago

image.png

INTRODUCTION: Good day wonderful people of this wonderful community of course anything pertaining to food is wonderful. I bid each and every one of us to day 6 of the second week of this Steemit engagement contest. I wasn't able to post here last week as my mobile device got stolen just two days after the commencement of the contest but here I am today. All thanks to God.

Once again, I would like to commend the effort of Steemit board that brought up this awesome contest idea which has been helping me and every other participant a lot. I would also like to commend the effort of each communities that has been a vessel for this great movement. You are all doing a great job and God bless us all.

Today, I will write on who is my favourite chef in my family and I am going to give you an hint on who that is by saying, I love food very well and I always what it takes to make any food at all.

Once again, this is going to be a long ride, so just grab a cup of water as sip through as you read.

ken.jpeg

Who is my favorite chef in my family

ken.jpeg

Yeah, just as you had guessed having seen the hint above, you are right. I am the favorite chef in my family. My name is Alabi Kehinde , I am 22 years old, I am from a family of six (6) and I can say with my full chest that I am the best cook in my family.

image.png

While growing up, I tends to always gives an hand to my mum whenever she is working in the kitchen don't forget that I initially told you that I love anything relating to food especially the process of eating it.. I am always the first person to taste her food back then. I never knew I was being prepared for something ahead.

It got to a time that, having taste her food, she takes whatever I gave her as comment as truth because at the end of the day, she will also realize that. Having seen how cooking some dishes is done, I started cooking some dishes with her and later on, I started helping her out totally. As of then, she was the best cook in my family.

How did I took that title from her?

Well, it was simple. Having learnt almost everything from her, I decided to upgrade my own cooking skill by cooking some new dishes by seeing online videos. Also, I love to visit many of relatives across some states where I get to learn how to cook their state-based food as I am always in their kitchen too when they are cooking. It became an habit. Well, I don't think any food is state-based for me but let me just put it like that.

WHen it comes to food, I am never shy of learning no matter where I am. Having learnt how to cook all this foods, anytime I am at home like this, they will all want me to cook and not just because they want me to cook, I also love doing the cooking.


Just of recent, I have started out to learn how to bake cake, make doughnut, meat pie and other related products from flower from a relative together with some other relatives. By the time I am done, I would have greatly increase my cooking skill aw well as increase what anybody will have to overcome in other to take the title Best Chef in MY Family from me.

ken.jpeg

Why am I the favorite chef in my family

ken.jpeg

I believe some of the reasons I see myself and why my siblings also see as the besf in the family has been listed above but how did I became this is what I am going to explain in this section.

  • The first thing I noticed about my self back then is my passion and love for food. We need to know that cooking requires a lot of strength and perseverance and so, one thing that got me going is passion.

  • Another thing is my creativity ability. Many a time, I improvise or try to do a dish in a different way apart from the general way. Most times it turns out bad and some times it turns out good. But in the process, I always get to know some new things.

  • I don't take criticism as an offence. Criticism is one thing that has made me who I am today. When I first started out, I do make a lot of mistake with which my sibling use to criticize me on but this has always made me stronger. Almost all my sibling doesn't have this and this is why they don't tend to cook.

  • At some point, I realized how important to pay attention to every details while cooking no matter how small the detail is.

Well, there are still some other things but I think this is enough for a single post.

ken.jpeg

My favorite recipe and photos of the dishes I prepared

ken.jpeg

Like I said earlier, I tends to love every food but then, my favorite recipe is Efo riro cooked in the yoruba way. I have always love this food while I was growing up and in fact it was the first food that got me really interested in cooking.

Cooking this food is now very very easy for me that it always looks like playing to me. Every time I am cooking it, I tends to change some thing so as to change the final look and taste in order for me and my family to never get tired of eating it.

If you have never taking this soup, I will implore you to do so and I am going to give the procedures to making it.

ScreenShot_20220219045041.jpeg

Ingredients needed

ScreenShot_20220219045041.jpeg

I will start by listing all the needed ingredient from which some are required and some ar not.

  • Green vegetables (Efo tete or Ugwu or Sade-Soko or Bitter leaf. I prefer these four). REQUIRED

  • Blended Pepper. REQUIRED

  • Onions. REQUIRED

  • Palm oil. REQUIRED

  • Locust beans (Iru woro)

  • Snail

  • Fish

  • Meat (already fried ones and some boiled ones)

  • Smoked Cow skin (ponmo)[It has to be watched and cleaned]

  • Crayfish

  • Salt. REQUIRED

  • Seasoning. REQUIRED

ScreenShot_20220219045041.jpeg

Procedures

ScreenShot_20220219045041.jpeg

I am currently not at home and I have little cash on me and so I am just going to make use of little ingredient to cook my favourite recipe for the purpose of this contest.

Below are the images of all I am going to use to cook.


Now let us go over the steps by steps procedure on how to arrive at the final products.

  • The first thing I used to do is to pick the vegetable from stalk, cut it into chunks, rinse it, drain and put it aside.

  • Wash the locust beans and put it aside.

  • Cut an onion and put it aside.

  • Blend the pepper roughly and put it aside.

  • If you want to use cold fish, boil it with little water, salt,seasoning and when it is done, shred it into flakes and then put it aside too.

  • If snail and cow meat is available, have them fried and put them aside.

After you have done all these, then you can go ahead to follow the process below. Now, I am just going to give the general procedure because, the size of pot, amount of oil and so on will depends on the quantity of the vegetables and so you can count on google for the quantity of things you are going to use.

  • Put a pot on fire and add palm oil to it.

  • Add the onions and locust beans to it. I do add part of the locust beans at this stage and the remainder later on .

  • Add the blended pepper to the palm oil and then stir to mixed up. You should add the remaining locust beans at the end of this step.

  • Add ponmo, snail, fried meat and fish and then cover for some time.

  • Add seasoning and little salt. While doing this, get a boiled water and pour it on the drained vegetable for some minutes to soften it. then, squeeze out the water.

  • Add the vegetable to the sauce and then stir. There is room for addition of little water if it looks too dry.

  • You should then take it off the fire after everything is well incorporated.

And that is it.

Below is the end product of my recipe.

food and sign.jpeg

Thanks for reading up till this point and I hope you enjoyed the post. GRACIAS

Sort:  

Hola @kennydavebobo que bueno que seas tu el chef favorito de la familia, innovando cada vez mas en esa área y como dices es una pasión por la cocina que permite ser creativos. Y claro que de los errores se aprenden y que se nos corrija es de apreciarlo.

Exitos en el concurso.

Sí, eso es todo. Hay diferentes altibajos con cada habilidad o trabajo y solo la pasión de uno puede ayudar. Es un privilegio que aprendas de la publicación.

Gracias por el cumplido y te deseo éxito a ti también.

I can say with my full chest that I am the best cook in my family.

I love seeing men who loves cooking. You are so funny and your recipe are nice and I bet the food is also delicious because it is believed that men are better cooks
😆 😆

You are absolutely right. Cooking is more like an obligation to women but men who cook cooks because of the passion they have for it.

Thank for finding me funny and I wish you the best in the contes.

You're welcome

I’m sure your family treasure their favourite chef😊
The men in my family are not great cooks. I’m sure you can teach them a thing or two 😊

I should be able to do so.. Thanks for reading.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted through steemcurator08.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66408.70
ETH 3225.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17