Learning New Recipes In The Pandemic

in SteemFoods3 years ago (edited)

How many of you have had a hard time with your favorite restaurant or food vendor being closed during the pandemic?
Covid-19 has made international cuisine obsolete for me in my hidden rural part of America. To break the mundane habitual meals we usually cook, my wife and I have turned to Pinterest and Youtube for help. The first thing we learned, which was most important to my eight year old, was how to roll our own sushi.
IMG_20210128_200920583.jpg
Now I know they aren't the prettiest rolls you've ever seen, and some might argue are closer to sushi burrito size, but they tasted great! My son was very pleased. Although, its not just learning how to make sushi. You also have to learn how to make sushi rice. That requires some rice vinegar and calrose(small grain) rice, and learning how to wash and prepare it. The eel sauce was very easy to make, some soy and a few other ingredients condensed down into a sweet and sticky sauce. But that prepared us for our next attempt at Asian cuisine made by cracker jack Americans, which was Crispy Pork.

IMG_20210124_163749262.jpg
For Crispy Pork you have to get some nice pork loin chops and deep fry them in Panko with egg, and batter them twice. Then you also fry them twice, that's how they get so crispy. Then the eel sauce drizzled over the crispy pork is like heaven in your mouth. Your teeth sing a holy orchestra while the tongue composes in delight. Now we have to get to daddy's, me as the father of the house not being sexy, favorite Chinese food Egg Drop Soup.
IMG_20210222_184730976.jpg
This is not only my favorite, but easiest to make. its chicken stock warmed up with some thickening agent and you add egg while is whirls. The tasty part is the fried wontons that make it spectacular. The crunch and mild saltiness really complete the meal. Thanks for reading, and if you like my work check out my Podcast Black Market News with Harvey O or other Live shows on Podbean.

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

Hello :

We provide voting support for quality and steem-exclusive posts in the SteemFoods Community. By reviewing the SteemFoods Community Guidelines below, you can improve your content in the SteemFoods Community and earn good voting support I'm sure you will be successful by reviewing the post below and sharing content over time :)


I see that you have just started Steemit, you can learn more about steemit and improve yourself by joining the Community below.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61059.95
ETH 2677.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61