HAVE YOU HAD A TASTE OF THIS SUMPTUOUS SOUP BEFORE? HOW I PREPARED MY WHITE SOUP, TRADITIONALLY KNOWN AS 'AFIA EFERE'

in SteemFoods3 years ago

Greetings wonderful food lovers of this adorable community. I can see you all are steeming great. For me, I have but mostly stressed out. Any ways it's good to have you read my post again.

On my last post, I mentioned the most cooked and served food during ceremonies which are: Afang soup, white soup and jollof rice. Today, I'll be sharing with us my recipe for "WHITE SOUP" ,which is natively known as AFIA EFERE. This soup is called white soup because, it is cooked without the addition of oil or much vegetable.

PicsArt_07-06-01.51.38.jpg

This soup is best enjoyed with pounded yam or poundo. But you know as the saying goes, "one man's food is another man's poison". The denotative meaning of this is that, what a person enjoys best can be what another person doesn't enjoy at all. Therefore some people enjoy eating white soup with garri(cassava flour), foofoo(fermented cassava), yam flour(Amala), cocoyam flour, wheat flour, etc. I enjoy it most with garri.

White soup can be prepared with 🐔 chicken, goat🐐 meat, fish🐟, etc. It is cooked with no addition of oil or much vegetable as it is done in afang or vegetable soup. Yam or cocoyam can be used as a thickening agent for the soup. Also, other people chose to add perewinkle to their soup. Below are the ingredients for the soup. I'm making use of goat meat.

INGREDIENTS FOR WHITE SOUP

  • Goat meat/intestines

IMG_20210611_093524_652.jpg

  • Stockfish

  • Crayfish

IMG_20210703_110419_463.jpg

  • Yam
  • Pepper

IMG_20210611_091537_564.jpg

  • Seasoning cubes(star🌟maggi/)

IMG_20210628_101345_053.jpg

  • Salt

IMG_20210629_110216_212.jpg

  • Dry fish

IMG_20210705_105424_485.jpg

  • Odusa leaf (optional)

White soup doesn't consume much ingredients. The soup is majorly made up of meat/intestine, stockfish and dry fish. Perewinkle(mfi) is optional.

COOKING PROCEDURES

  • I Peeled, cut my yam into shapes and washed them into a pot of water for boiling.*

  • I washed my goat meat/intestine and stockfish properly and put them in the pot as well.
    Note: **I cooked the goat meat intestine before cutting into piece

  • I added my seasoning cubes and grinded pepper to taste, stirring the meat. I covered it to boil*

  • After 7-10 minutes, I checked to know if the yam is soft for pounding. I removed them and pound into a dough so as to use as soup thickener.

IMG_20210611_092555_098.jpg

  • I then took the meat intestine from the pot and cut it into desired piece before putting it back into the pot.

IMG_20210705_085906_610.jpg

  • I added a little quantity of water to the pot of soup depending on the amount of yam and the condiment and I added salt to taste.

  • I added the already pound yam, cutting a handful each and flattening it for easy dissolving.

  • I washed in my dry fish after putting the yam. After five minutes, I added my crayfish.

IMG_20210626_113149_542.jpg

*I allowed the soup remain on fire till it becomes thick(Note: I didn't allow it become too thick.)

  • I added a handful of odusa leave for the flavour.

IMG_20210611_095450_494.jpg

  • My white soup is ready to be served and consumed. I put off the fire and dished a portion into a soup bowl.

IMG_20210703_092425_401.jpg

We prepare this particular soup everyday because of the high demand of it.
I know our customers enjoy this soup a lot that's why they always want to have it everyday and anytime.
Breakfast is supposed to be a light meal like: 🍞 bread, tea and egg, Quaker oat and bread, etc, but they choose to take white soup every morning.

It won't be a bad idea if you choose to try this soup out. In fact try it out and thank me later🥱😅😅
Thank you once again for visiting my blog❤️
Love ya all💋💋

Sort:  

The presentation is on point

Thank you darling.
I appreciate

This your soup look so yummy

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53699.14
ETH 2213.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28