SteemFoods Contest -8-| Promote Your Favorite Greengrocer! | The city market

in SteemFoods4 years ago

Hello everyone, I'm Damith Udayanga from Sri Lanka.

I saw the interesting contest in the @steemitfoods community a few days ago about the Favorite Greengrocer!. I just knew what to write, but had to wait till the last moment. Because it's open once a week on every Wednesday.

So, the place is the city market.

IMG_20201202_112602.jpg
///icicles.wanes.anvil

The location is in Buttala town, Sri Lanka. It's just 3km away from my home. Once a week buyers and sellers come to the place for their necessities. Few weeks the market was closed due to Covid 19 restrictions. But now again it's open under health steps and regulations.

As I'm now at home, I'm the driver of my mother. So, as usual, I went there with my mother by motorbike.

Why do I like it?

  • Well, the first thing is, what do you need? It's there. We can buy all the daily needs from here. (Vegetable, Fruits, Fish or dry fish, Spices, snacks, clothes, small tools and gadgets, small plants, etc.)

  • Fresh fruits and vegetables can be taken. (Most of the sellers are farmers around the city. So, we can buy new vegetables)

  • The prices are comparatively low (As we have to buy some items in large amounts for the shop, this is a plus point)

Now I'll show you the photos of some vegetables and items in the market.

Sweet Potato, drumstick, okra, Brinjal

IMG_20201202_110438.jpg

Red onion

IMG_20201202_110621.jpg

Cabbage, Beans

IMG_20201202_110954.jpg

Tomato

IMG_20201202_111147.jpg

More Vegetables

IMG_20201202_112822.jpg

Sweets

IMG_20201202_113158.jpg

Pineapple

IMG_20201202_113345.jpg

Fish Market

IMG_20201202_112546.jpg

Dry Fish

IMG_20201202_113415.jpg

Different types of flowers

IMG_20201202_110840.jpg

Today the prices are a little bit high. I think it's due to the Covid19 situation. Now the sellers can't go to other towns, only in the relevant areas. So, they try to find profit anyhow. But no matter what there is a huge crowd today.

Price List

I'll present the prices of some of the main items.

  • B-onion - 1 $/kg
  • Red onion - 1.73 $/kg
  • Potato - 1 $/kg
  • Sweet potato - 0.43 $/kg
  • Tomato - 0.43 $/kg
  • Cabbage - 0.33 $/kg
  • Beans - 1.4 $/kg
  • Brinjals - 0.4 $/kg
  • Fish (tuna) - 5.42 $/kg
  • Maasi/ Umbalakada - 8 $/kg
  • Pineapple - 0.8 $/fruit
  • Cocounut oil - 2 $/kg

So, as I said earlier there are all types of vegetables we can take here. They are the main item. People usually take the necessities that enough for a week. So, we also bought some vegetables, fruits, fish, betel, and some sweets for me. I specially came here to buy all the types of fruits and fish. They are my favorites. About vegetables I don't have any special preferences, I eat all of them except bitter-gourd.

Usually, we spend around 15$ per week. But if we take things for shop it can be increased up to 30-40 dollars per week.

So, I guess this is the best place to buy fresh and new vegetables for a convenient price in our area. I think most of you have this experience in a local market. We have to carry the weights and spend some time there, that's right. But I love it to visit it with my mom.

So, that's itfor today. Hope you will enjoy it!

Thank you.
Best Regards!

Sort:  

Because it's open once a week on every Wednesday.

Here we have Sunday fair. It's best place to buy household stuff specially fresh fruits and vegetables.😃

Your post has been upvoted by Steem Sri Lanka community curator.

✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵

Any Cool Feature Idea in Your Mind About Steemit? Join With Our New Contest...

Steem Sri Lanka - Contest Series | Round 02 | Week 02| My Dream Feature In Steemit

Win Amazing Vote Prizes upto 50% from @ steemcurator2 + more prizes

I haven't been to a fair in a long time.Because of the panadamic our village fair is closed.
Every thing look fresh and new!
Shopping at a fair is a good experience ☺️

 4 years ago (edited)

Hi :

Your participation in the contest I organized with the #steemfoods-greengrocer tag has been successfully approved. Thank you so much for sharing your favorite greengrocer in detail on SteemFoods Community. I added this post to the "Best SteemFoods Posts of the Day" on 2.12.2020. We will try to support the post with -steemcurator01, -steemcurator02 or -steemcurator06 accounts. Continue creating content in the SteemFoods Community. :)

Wow! That's good news! Thanks for selecting my post and continuous support!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57621.01
ETH 3094.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32