SteemFoods X Steemit Engagement Challenge Contest 1️⃣ | Prepare Your Most Practical Recipe// Ogbono soup and Garri

in SteemFoods2 years ago

Hello my fellow friends in the SteemFoods community, it’s with pleasure that I share with you this delicacy from Cameroon. I will first appreciate the great work done by the Admins of this community. Thank you for giving us this opportunity to share our practical recipes in your community.

That said, my most practical recipe I have decided to prepare is “Ogbono” soup with “garri”. This is because of the nutritional value of the Ogbono (grind bush mango seeds).
5126858D-2FD1-4075-8883-583C67C67F9B.jpeg
My images edited on Pixelcut

Ogbono soup has been proven to be an anti-diabetes and contain an approximately 20 amino acids, with a lot of vitamins, iron, calcium, potassium, magnesium etc. It equally has low cholesterol and helps for weight loss. When eaten with garri, it helps in digestion. These account to why it is my favorite practical recipe.

The reason why I choose this recipe is because it is my husband’s favorite food. Though it takes a lot of time to prepare it if you do not have money to purchase ingredients, I choose it because I have most of the ingredients at home. Adding to the fact that my kids love eating it since it does not require chewing, they love swallow food.

Ingredients to prepare Ogbono soup with garri

Item Name/ local nameQuantityPrice (STEEM)
Grind bush mango seed (Ogbono)1/2 cup1 steem
Grind pumpkin seed (egussi)3 cups3 steem
Vegetable (okonghobong leavesAs desired1.5 steem
Palm oil1/2 cup1 steem
Meat/candaAs desired15 steem
Crayfish1 cup2 steem
Maggi3cubes0.5 steem
Salttablespoon0.1 steem
Garri5 cups2.5 steem
Stock fishAs desired10 steem
WaterAs desired-

To prepare the soup does not require much time if your ingredients are all ready in the house. If not it will take a longer period for one to prepare the meal. But as I earlier said, I have most of the ingredients already prepared at home, the reason why I decided to make this. To make garri is very simple if you have it at home. For me, I decided to make my garri myself and kept at home. Below are the steps to make Ogbono soup and garri.

Steps for Ogbono soup

D789CAF5-8F31-4B36-8B07-E32937109520.jpeg

1)-Grind egussi and grind Ogbono separately. This will take about 5minutes if using hand grind machine. But a blender takes less than 5minutes to grind egussi and Ogbono.

2)-Boil meat, canda and stock fish for 30 minutes, and use some of the water to mix the egussi until it becomes smooth.

C8584405-DEC5-4302-BBA5-6DAF99AF2EA8.jpeg

D65B4B0A-6BC7-4F4B-A5E5-50579AF534E0.jpeg

3)-Add the mixed egussi to the boiled meat and allow it to boil for another 30minutes . Mixed the Ogbono with cold water in a pan and add as well, leave it to boil.

01FB2A0C-5A7C-419B-A270-58FBF0217A01.jpeg

4CC2018A-682B-434B-80C7-C2185A3F2676.jpeg

4)-Add palm oil, grind crayfish, vegetable, Maggi and salt to taste. Stir it for a while, then allow to boil for about 3 minutes. Soup is ready.

52E56BC7-5A82-4ED7-B2A8-3C3222D743D4.jpeg

For the garri, I had prepared garri and kept at home , so I do not need to buy garri from the market. However, for the benefit of new learners, I will share the steps below.

Steps to Prepare Garri

1)-Harvest cassava from the farm and peel off.
99DD043E-4295-4EA3-8527-49C21E1E443C.jpeg

2)-Wash the cassava and grind in a machine made purposely for garri or better still grate it on a grater. Mix inside a bucket with water and then tie in a bag to drain off the starchy water from the cassava. Make sure to always tie it until it is dry. This can take about 3 days.

958768AE-80BD-433E-B796-319BA0C9A5AA.jpeg

F39C1D28-0332-446B-ACDA-B6F9CCB416FB.jpeg

3)-Untie it and used the local grater to scatter the lumps before the frying process. The time used depends on the amount of garri.

422A62A8-188A-4971-8499-C76488F019B0.jpeg

4)-Make your fire with firewood and preheat the frying pan. Pour the scattered garri in the frying pan and stir continuously till it isn’t sticky. This at times is complicated if the garri was not well dried off. Any mistake done here, the garri will have lumps.

F073671C-C7ED-48EA-92EB-3D8B9E6052C1.jpeg

5)-Spread it on a bag to air it and allow it to get cold.

6DDAF5C3-DCF0-45D4-87D6-F634EF421E01.jpeg

6)-Boil water and pour in a pan, add garri and closed it, then allow it for about 2 minutes. Mixed it and garri is ready to serve with the Ogbono soup.

74AE0707-95C5-4022-9C3C-025C1694C7ED.jpeg

Conclusion

Looking at the steps looks time consuming but actually it does not if you buy your ingredients in the market. However, the recent hike in prices in our markets, made me to prepare my garri and kept at home. Notwithstanding, I thank SteemFoods for this challenge and I hope someone give it a try. I have mentioned the steps practically to prepare this recipe and it is good for diabetics and enables weight loss. For those who want to loss weight, give it a try.

CC:
@steemfoods

Sort:  

Wow my friend you have done well, this is a really Africa dish,am amazed on the steps you took to prepare the garri from how you went to farm to how you fried it, nice post keep it up

Thanks for your compliment and I hope you learn a new recipe today. Maybe you should give it a try some day.

 2 years ago 

This is very well detailed post on this your food. I love ogbono soup anyday any time. It is one of the soups I enjoy a lot when prepared very well. Thanks for sharing this great piece with us.

You sound like a typical African man 😂😂😂. African men like good things lol. Thanks for reading my post. Do you prepare it yourself or well prepared by another person? Do you like it with much ugu leaves??

 2 years ago 

Yes, I am. From Nigeria. We Love good and well prepared soup.

Naija for life ✌️✌️

 2 years ago 

Onetime:;

Woow an astonishing recipe. I love the way you have explained especially the making of Garri part. Meeeeeeerde it's not easy oooh

As for the ogbono Soup, I have stayed for more than a year without eating it. But I know how delicious 😋 this soup always tast. Thanks for reminding me of this Soup and showing us step by step how to prepare it

I’m telling you, now you see why those poor farmers have the right to increase the price of garri because of the hard work they do. If you are a lazy type, then do not even think of it because at the end you will abandon it.

Hope from this recipe you will prepare it someday. Thanks for going through my post.

I’m telling you, now you see why those poor farmers have the right to increase the price of garri because of the hard work they do. If you are a lazy type, then do not even think of it because at the end you will abandon it.

That's true oooh.... No wander 1 glass of Garri is now 100 FCFA instead of 50 FCFA as before. This has made me to reduce my consumption of Garri because I can't be affording it most often

Besides that, I'm still waiting for that my gari ooooh

Hope from this recipe you will prepare it someday. Thanks for going through my post.

Trust me na... I be chief cook so I will obviously prepare it

Hahahaha you know I kept your garri and was planning to call you on Wednesday and on Tuesday one IDP from Batibo came knocking with twins, toddlers begging for food. I gave her the garri with some rice. Nevertheless, I still owe you, it’s a promise✌️✌️

Oooh noooo🙆🙆. But I'm still glad you help the poor and the needy. God will reward you for that

We thank the head of state 😂😂😂😂

Hey Chant!
Are you a cameroonian? Your post is quite detailed and I love your method. I have not seen anyone explain how to make garri while making post of this kind of delicacy.

Anyways Ogbono soup is one of the best and most common Nigerian draw soup eaten mostly by the Igbo Ethnic groups of Nigeria.

I have actually learnt different methods of preparing this soup. It's tastes so good in the mouth.

Are you a cameroonian? Your post is quite detailed and I love your method. I have not seen anyone explain how to make garri while making post of this kind of delicacy.

Yes I am a Cameroonian. I appreciate your support on my content.

Anyways Ogbono soup is one of the best and most common Nigerian draw soup eaten mostly by the Igbo Ethnic groups of Nigeria.

I see, for us in Cameroon it is a delicacy for the South westerners but I have learned it from my husband as he grow up in the South West. I use to hate it until when I got married and now it is my favorite😋😋. Are you from Igbo, haussa, Yoruba??

That ogbono soup and garrii recipe complement with each other. What make it more interesting is it has lot of benefits especially it cured diabetes. Thanks fo sharing this recipe. Greetings.

Yes ooh, the soup is mouth watering 😋😋😋. My son can eat it for the whole week and will still crave for move. I love it also because of its nutritional values.

It's nice to hear that the whole family loves it.

I have seen other post regarding this soup sometime ago and I would really like to try it. Looks like Cameroon or Nigeria will have to be places to visit.
Thank you for sharing the process of garri and your recipe with us.

It’s one of the delicacies in Cameroon and equally consumed in Nigeria. You are highly welcome to visit us.

Nice entry @chant. A nice recipe for a delicious meal. I usually enjoy people eating it especially in my house but I don't like it because of the smell. But judging from the manner people consume it I can tell it's sweet

However, the recent hike in prices in our markets, made me to prepare my garri and kept at home.

My dear the price of items will kill one someday in the market. Yesterday I was angry in the market as items I could get for 100frs now cost about 500frs. It's so exaggerating. One needs to go to the farm else we will die of hunger. Thanks for sharing

I use to hate the soup due to the smell but I was made to understand that the smell is when it is not well cooked. I tried it and cooked it well and the smell was no more. From then, I have been loving it.

My dear the prices are so annoying especially when I realised some sellers just exaggerate prices just to exploit consumers. Some big sellers create artificial shortages by stockpiling and sending smaller quantities in the market at higher prices. The scam is just too much. If one has a piece of land then do not hesitate to start farming it. Even if the yields are bad, it will be better. Thanks for going through my entry post.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted through steemcurator08.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68180.36
ETH 2642.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70