Promote Your Most Delicious Traditional Food | Egusi Soup, My Favourite Traditional Food by @bright-obias

in SteemFoods3 years ago (edited)

WhatsApp Image 2021-03-25 at 3.34.41 AM.jpeg

Hello steemians of this wonderful community, welcome to my first steem food post on this community. In regard to the contest that is been held here, I will be sharing with you my favorite traditional food, so read on to what I've got here.

My Favourite Traditional Food - Egusi Soup

image.png

Egusi soup is very common in Nigeria and it is been cooked with grounded melon seed which helps it to be thick and it usually contains some leaves like vegetable, bitter leaf, or even okazi leaf. But for this content, i will be using the okazi leaf to prepare the soup, so you can check the ingredients in the general shot below.

IMG_20210323_144954_152.jpg

General Snapshot Of The Ingredient For My Favourite Traditional Food - Egusi Soup

In the above picture, you will see all the ingredients that I will be using to prepare this meal, so on the list below, you'll take a look at their names.

  • 21/2 Cup Of Egusi - Grounded Melon seed
  • Salt
  • Ofor
  • Stock Fish
  • Red Oil
  • 3 Seasoning cubes
  • Fresh Pepper
  • Dried Fish
  • Beef meat
  • Crayfish
  • 1 milk cup Unshelled Periwinkle

So, since you have seen the list of the ingredients, let's now move to the preparation! continue reading till down!

The Arrangement/Preparation

image.png
There are so many ways that you can use to start preparing this delicious egusi soup, but for an easy and convenient way, I will start by arranging all the ingredients.

Firstly, I started by pounding the pepper, by doing this I brought it out and then washed it, so there will not be any dirt on it. after then I started pounding as you can see below.


While Pounding The Pepper

pounding the pepper, it took me just 8mins, after pounding it, the next thing I did was to add the crayfish, but before I added the crayfish, I had to wash it so all the dirt on it will go out. here's when I was washing the crayfish.


While Washing The Crayfish

After washing the crayfish, I then added it to the pepper and then pounded it together with the crayfish. Pounding the pepper + crayfish. See how I did it below.


While Pounding The Crayfish Together With Pepper

After pounding the crayfish, I then started the pounding of the okazi leaf. The essence of arranging all the foodstuff is so I can cook them without any inconvenience. You know, that leaf called okazi leaf is too hard, so I had to pound it till it gets soft. See how I pounded it below.


While Pounding The Okazi Leaf

After all the arrangements, I then began cooking properly. So continue reading to see how I finally made the soup.

Food Preparation Proper

image.png

After arranging all the above foodstuffs. Now let's begin the cooking of the food properly.

  • Step 1

To begin, I have to pour water inside the pot, this water was used to steam the beef meat together with the dry fish and stockfish. After pouring the water, I washed the beef meat and Boiled it in the fire for about 20mins. See how it was on the fire.

IMG_20210323_143521_302.jpg

Still on the fire, after it boiled for about 20mins, I added the dry fish and stockfish together with the meat and closed it to boil for sometime after which I opened it, see how it looked like when I opened it.

image.png

Now it has boiled and the next thing to do under this step is to add the ground pepper and crayfish. After adding the pepper & crayfish, I mixed(turned). See how I did it below.

image.png


  • Step 2

In step 2 I added water to the soup and then waited for it to heat for some time, After then I added the red oil, then waited for it to heat a little before adding ofor. I allowed it to boil for about 6mins. before I added the Unshelled Periwinkle. See how I did it below.

32FTXiZsHoAW6noHJDhrg3W8ZKHVFSsLYM859aTDCF8iErY4Ljkv9CvNh8PmZLxc6gNBqxK78PAY6wfaAJRVQBsgBsiBWxpFf2SMZpvZfhFiFBNSXwAf5MuB3haeWkztRsXp2HW7xPSpMbgS.jpg
32FTXiZsHoAW6noHJDhrg3W8ZKHVFSsLYM859aTDCF8iErY4Ljkv9CvNh8PmZLxc6gNBqxK78PAY6wfaAJRVQBsgBsiBWxpFf2SMZpvZfhFiFBNSXwAf5MuB3haeWkztRsXp2HW7xPSpMbgS.jpg


  • Step 3

after adding the Unshelled Periwinkle, I waited for it to heat for some time. When it was due for the Egusi, I brought it out and poured it on a plate like this:

32FTXiZsHoAW6noHJDhrg3W8ZKHVFSsLYM859aTDCF8iErY1qYhyqh3QGdU8w37SFgo3EV12F9m5VsCkqjS4at46oNNviA9J8NGVHUvqtfUjCnPsAQUCqWhJHbVXHYYZtBzzZYM31r4hmYVt.jpg

And then added it to the boiling soup. After then, I allowed it to heat again for some time. Check how I added the Egusi below.

IMG_20210323_155827_434.jpg

After adding the Egusi, I allowed it to heat for about 10mins before I then added the okazi leaf that was pounding on the arrangement stage. See How I added and turned it in below.

IMG_20210323_160108_879.jpg

The Okazi Leaf, After Pounding


While I Was Mixing The Okazi Leaf With The Soup


After adding the Okazi, I then allowed it to heat for sometime before I brought it down from the fire. And that was how I prepared my Favourite Traditional Food called Egusi Soup. Below is the delicious Egusi Soup ready to Eat!

WhatsApp Image 2021-03-23 at 4.38.09 PM(1).jpeg


Now, let's take a look at why I have chosen Egusi soup as my favorite tradition. Egusi soup can be prepared using any one of these leaves, Okazi leaf, Bitter Leaf, Vegetable Leafs, and Oha leaf. These leaves have a very vital part to play in the soup. So for this very cook, I will give some benefits below:

  • It Helps in Digestion - Its substance of dietary fiber is likewise useful for the body because of its capacity to help absorption subsequently forestalling any type of stomach-related confusion like clogging and sporadic defecation.

  • It Strengthens The Borns - Egusi contains minerals that are fundamental in the arrangement and advancement of bones like potassium, calcium, magnesium, and surprisingly phosphorous. Its utilization can help lighten bone infections and disease.

Thanks for reading through, I trust Nigerians here can prepare this soup. Thanks once again for the valid time spent on my post. See you at my next cook.

Cc:
@steemcurator01
@steemfood
@alikoc07
@ngoenyi
@gbenga


Kind Regards

@bright-obias

Sort:  

Your traditional food was very nice and unique recipe. I will try to cook ut and your recipe was help me..
#onepercent
#bangladesh

 3 years ago 

Hello :

Thank you so much for sharing your delicious recipe in SteemFoods Community. In your recipe posts, I recommend that you add a selfie photo with the food you prepared. I want to know all our participants. As an extra, you can verify your account and earn a verified account badge by participating in the SteemFoods Verification system.


Verification System: SteemFoods User Verification System Continues ! | 20 Days : 400+ Verified Accounts |


Your participation in the contest that I organized with the hashtag #steemafrica-traditional has been successfully approved.

Will go and verify my account now but check this selfie that i used on the posts.

2nhMph8Yo3jHc59C1ntNXgkTz1nwBgkBw5VCXq7i4dfn9PRfv27PPGSKrXn1P6XJZxV5ey4CwYKj6fXH6hE5Pm64hDH91MZpfkgPF44vcPmH6ZVRMPTtQnGcH7GswLa1oYqHvsxvzwoUjiGUmFmS4L231X7nA8xC4WjgHqBkf1jnNkkTy5gcQB9an.jpeg

 3 years ago 

That looks like amazing friend thanks for sharing it!!

 3 years ago 

Hello :

Thank you so much for sharing your delicious recipe in detail on SteemFoods Community. I added this post to the "Best SteemFoods Posts of the Day" on 25.03.2021. We will try to vote this post with -steemcurator01, -steemcurator02 -steemcurator06 or booming accounts. Continue creating content in the SteemFoods Community. :)


SteemFoods User Verification System started 23+ days ago. If you have not yet verified your account, you can join the verification system by viewing the link below.

SteemFoods User Verification System Continues ! | 20 Days : 400+ Verified Accounts |

Thank you so much! I have dropped my verification Image on the steemfood verification post

I love egusi soup. Love from Ghana

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63277.26
ETH 2570.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82