Steemit Engagement Challenge Season 1 Week2️⃣ | Who Is Your Favorite Chef 🧑‍🍳 in Your Family? | by @bolaji001

in SteemFoods2 years ago (edited)
Greetings to every member of this community and to Steemians in general. I am @bolaji001 and I am participating in the ongoing engagement challenge by the Steemit team. Today being the last day of week 2 contest, I will be sharing with us, who the favorite chef in my family is, the person's cooking skills, favorite recipes etc.. This is another great contest idea from the @steemitfoods community, last week's contest was amazing but this week's contest is even better. It brings us together and enables us to learn from each other cooking skills.


76A2B920-3D41-4A65-B192-A3DAA75C6F88.png


MY FAVORITE CHEF IN MY FAMILY


My favorite chef is myself :)
For as long as I can remember, I have always loved being around where cooking is going on, on regular days, I would be in the kitchen with my mummy just loitering about. My Mum saw that I had interest in cooking and took it upon herself to teach me how to cook.
My mum taught me everything I need to knowing about cooking; how to improvise when some ingredients are not enough or not present at all, how to turn around a badly cooked meal etc.
Though I am very grateful to my mum for all the cooking knowledge she has imparted in me and I still do love her cooking very much, I would say still say I am my favorite chef. I said this because since she taught me almost all I know about cooking, indirectly she is my favorite chef too it is a win win for both of us lol.
One of the reasons my mum taught me how to cook so well, is to avoid buying food from restaurants, as it's not too palatable and also way costlier than when one makes their own meal.
I totally agree and appreciate her efforts as it has greatly helped me cut off some unnecessary expenses on buying food in school. Instead, I prepare them myself which is way cheaper.
I see my friends complaining about how they spend too much on buying food from restaurants in school.


IMAGES OF ME COOKING


IMG-6767.JPG


IMG-6768.JPG


MY COOKING SKILLS


Not to boast, but I believe that my cooking skills are top notch. This can be confirmed by my family members and many of my hostel mates in school, especially my roommate.
My roommate in school is always glad and elated whenever it is my turn to take on cooking duties. Occasionally I do a little bit large scale cooking for my hostel mates too, they always love it, some will even jokingly say that I should consider starting a restaurant business, positive feedbacks and compliments are always received.


MY FAVORITE RECIPE


My Goto recipe is a rather simple one but very very tasty and delicious. People are always surprised how something prepared so easily and within a short period of time comes out so delicious.
This my favourite recipe is Jollof Spaghetti
Below are the ingredients I use to prepare my very tasty and delicious Jollof Spaghetti;

  1. Spaghetti pack
  2. Vegetable Oil
  3. Onions
  4. Tin tomatoes (grounded tomatoes pepper)
  5. Chilli pepper
  6. Curry
  7. Thyme
  8. Knoor chicken cubes
  9. and water.

HOW TO PREPARE MY FAVORITE RECIPE (JOLLOF SPAGHETTI)


Jollof Spaghetti, can be taken with almost any protein (beef, fish, chicken egg etc.). I will be showing you in detail how to cook Jollof Spaghetti with eggs.


IMG-6752.JPG


IMG-6753.JPG

Cooking Jollof Spaghetti has three (3) stages;

Stage 1: Parboiling the Spaghetti

STEP 1: Boil salted water


IMG-6754.JPG

STEP 2: Cut and rinse the spaghetti


IMG-6758.JPG

STEP 3: Pour the rinsed spaghetti in to the boiling salted water


IMG-6755.JPG

STEP 4: Leave to parboil for roughly 10 minutes and set aside.


IMG-6756.JPG

Now that we have our parboiled spaghetti, it is time for Stage 2.

Stage 2: Prepare the Stew

STEP 5: Pour the vegetable oil into the pot and heat


IMG-6759.JPG

STEP 6: Fry the onions in the heated Oil


IMG-6760.JPG

STEP 7: Gradually add (curry, thyme, Knoor chicken cubes and salt). Stir fry as you do this. Also add small quantity of water to loosen the mixture.


IMG-6761 (1).JPG

STEP 8: Then, add the Tin tomatoes (grounded tomatoes pepper) and Chilli pepper add some more water and leave to fry for about 8 minutes.


IMG-6762.JPG

With this we now have our parboiled spaghetti and stew done, we move to Stage 3;

Stage 3: Mixing Spaghetti with Stew

STEP 9: Gradually pour and mix your set aside parboiled Spaghetti into the stew. Mix thoroughly until each spaghetti strand is mixed with stew.


IMG-6752 (1).JPG

STEP 10: Leave to cook for final 2 minutes. After, our Jollof Spaghetti is done :)


IMG-6764.JPG

Next is to boil our eggs, this is relatively simple. Just put the eggs in pot containing water to totaly immerse them and boil for about 10 minutes.

And that is it. You have successfully prepared Jollof Spaghetti and Egg :)


IMG-6765.JPG
Me enjoying my well cooked Jollof Spaghetti and egg.


CONCLUSION


Every family has that one person who is always in charge of cooking, makes the best dishes, everyone loves his/her cooking. In my own family that person is my Mum, but since she has carefully taught me her methods and I have mastered them plus my own knowledge, I might as well just say I am my Favorite Chef.
I really do love cooking as it is healthier for one too cook their food rather than buying from restaurants plus it saves a lot of unnecessary expenses.

Thanks for reading, I really appreciate. I hope you have now mastered how to cook Spaghetti Jollof.
I would like to see you give it a try and post here on @steemitfoods channel.

Sort:  
 2 years ago 

Hello
My friend I love pasta. I use curry sometimes but with this recipe, i loved it

Thank you very much for sharing with us. Good luck!

Hi, ma. Good to know that you love pasta too.
You are welcome, thanks for commenting too.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted through steemcurator08.

Thank you so much, I really appreciate.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56325.56
ETH 2374.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33