Ice-Cream Painting in Watercolour

in GEMS3 years ago

P_20210319_211657_HDR.jpg

Hello everyone! Today I am going to share the process on how I created a colourful painting of ice-cream. It has been a very long time since I have had ice-cream. So, I looked for some ice-cream pictures on Pinterest and found one that I liked and painted it.

Tools and Materials


  • A 300gsm watercolour paper
  • A Watercolour palette set
  • A HB pencil to draw
  • A waterbrush
  • A tissue paper to absorb excess water

Method


P_20210319_194525_HDR.jpg

I drew an ice-cream on my sketchbook. All the papers on my sketchbook are 300gsm watercolour papers.

1.jpg

I started my painting with pink colour. I tried not to use a lot of water because I was using a sheet where I have already painted on one side before :D

3.jpg

I added some red to the pink. It looks bright here but since my medium is watercolour, it will look lighter anyway later on when it dries out.

4.jpg

The red pigment has dried out and while painting it earlier, I blended it with the pink and added some purplish tones as well. I used different shades of cyan for the next scoop of ice-cream.

5.jpg

I painted the final scoop in yellow. By the way, I will be honest with you. I know the images look a little weird unlike my usual mobile captured images and the reason is because these are screenshots of my video. I was so excited to paint the ice-cream that I completely forgot to take pictures in between! However I managed to record the process as I thought of making a video one day.

6.jpg

I did a few dabs of dark and light golden brown tones. Dabbing seemed to help create the texture of ice-cream.

7.jpg

I painted the ice-cream container in red next. I purposely used more water to dilute the paint on the left to keep the colour light and create a little highlighted area.

P_20210319_204711_HDR.jpg

Now this picture was captured on my mobile which is why it has better clarity. This is when I realized that I forgot to pause and take pictures after each step. I painted the ribbon and used different blues for both the ribbon around the container and for the bow so that the bow can be distinguished and will look more obvious.

P_20210319_211548_HDR.jpg

I painted the straw as well as the decoration around the container. I also added some colours on the ground to create a subtle hint of a flat surface. I was done and called this artwork a finished one. Phewwww

P_20210319_211611_HDR.jpg

I took another picture of the painting with the colour palette that I used :D

916c6f82efad46bbcbc46944af50250711d4ab6d9629ff774e69d26b3853ecd0.0.png

Thank you for dropping by and I hope that you have a wonderful day! ♥♥♥

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66258.39
ETH 3170.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.07