The Ole Lollie Shop.

in GEMS4 years ago

The Ole Lollie Shop.

This was my first visit to this amazing world of sweetness in Palmview, Qld, Australia and I have to say, that this shop was the best Lollie Shop I have ever had the pleasure of 'Browsing.' N.B. I said 'Browsing,' not 'Buying.' My intentions were to capture as many images as I could (with the owners permission of course) to create a blog such as this. But then, who am I kidding? Who goes into a Lollie shop and goes out empty handed?

I predict a battle between the kid in me who can't resist sweet things and the adult in me who opts for treats of a more healthy nature. And I have to admit, the voice of the kid in me was a lot louder than the adult version. She'd made her appearance (I hadn't seen her for a decade or two.....or three.......) and showed no inclination to leave the building. And she was so excited to discover a very friendly, 'Lollie Gnome' balancing on a wooden beam up in the rafters when she walked in. He laughed as he dropped beautifully wrapped sweets down at her feet as she entered.

I think he was just as delighted to see me because he nearly fell off his perch in his attempt to welcome me. (They say kids have great imaginations don't they?)

I certainly wasn't imagining the size of these lollipops arranged on a tall wooden tree. (As high as the ceiling) One of those monsters would keep me going for six months......and keep my dentist fully employed for the same length of time. (Slight exaggeration but I haven't matured yet. I'm stuck in a time warp of innocence and wonder. It feels so good, I might just stay there for the duration of this post.)

Coconut Ice!!!!! Is this just a Kiwi/Aussie treat or do other nationalities enjoy biting into these two toned temptations also?

Hand dipped Marshmallows.
Can't say I've ever had one of these in my entire life. (But at six years of age, I still have many years of investigating to do.) Dropped into a steaming cup of hot chocolate on a cold winters night, or scorched beyond recognition over an open fire on an equally cold winters night: that's how we eat them at my place.

Now THAT is a MASS of freckles. I'm more familiar with the kind of freckles that have landed uninvited over my otherwise flawless cheeks after a day out in the sun. How embarrassing. (When I grow up, I'm going to be an Avon Lady)

What about this heart? This one is as BIG as Mother Teresa's, but this one is Hand Made!

Macadamia Nut Brittle! Oh yes! Peanut brittle is yummy but macadamia nut brittle is the deluxe version of nut brittle. (In my humble opinion) But at $8.50 for a 150gm bag? I'll keep looking. I only have a few pennies in my purse. Next week I'll have more because I get 2 whole pennies for pocket money if I make my bed every day and help with the dishes. That's 10 whole aniseed balls! We can get five for a penny at the corner store.

You might wonder why one would put a 'Merry Go Round' in the middle of a Lollie Shop. But not me. I KNOW why it is there. When all customers have gone home, and the shop keeper closes the door at the end of the day: when darkness descends and the birds have stopped chirping......…

My Lollie Gnome climbs down from his lofty position and walks directly towards the Merry Go Round, turns on an invisible key to put things in motion and play a happy tune.......and then he rides around and around until he drops off to sleep, with the aroma of sugar and chocolate in his nostrils and a smile as big as the freckle biscuit I mentioned above. He is in Lollie Heaven. And for your information, this is where the saying, 'Sweet Dreams' comes from.

Hey! Do you know what little boys are made of? I do. When I was at my Nanna's house having a sleep over the other night she told me the answer. Wanna know what she said?
"Little boys are made of and Snips and Snails and Puppy Dog Tails
BUT Little girls are made of
Sugar and Spice and all things Nice."

My Nanna knows EVERYTHING! And she's always right. I'm glad God made me a girl because I don't like snails and sometimes I dont like puppy dogs tails. (You know why) And I don't think I like Snips either even though I don't know what 'Snips' are cause I forgot to ask My grandmother. But if boys like them, that means I won't like them.
Bet you thought this shop was ALL about Lollies. Well. It isn't. If you promise not to tell anyone, I'll show you what else I found. Shhhhhh!

Spicy things! I know I said little girls are made of spice but I think a boy came up with the title of these sauces. I'm not allowed to say that 'A' word. 'A..' Blaster Hot Sauce. (Giggle) That's why I asked you to keep this a secret.

These sauce bottles have come all the way from America, so they must be good.

Nougat.
No Ugat? I wonder why they didn't put any Ugat in these white square things? That's probably why they are still white. (lol) I'll have to write a letter to my Nanna and ask her. She will know. The postman will deliver it to her by next week, so I won't have to wait long before she I get a reply.

Aren't those shopping bags beautiful? I wish I could fill one of those.

These are lovely too.

If I could choose ANYTHING I wanted to fill up that cute teddy bear bag I would have enough sweets to last me a whole year. I'd have to hide them under my bed so that my stinky brother wouldn't find them. He ruins ALL my secrets.

The first thing I'd pick is one of those bags of Rocky Road. DE-LISH-US! Oh Oh.....it looks like it's time to go. But don't worry. I've still got more to show you from my favourite 'Lollie Shop.' Stay Tuned!

But before I go, I thought I would share a photo Mummy took of me with those yukky freckles I was complaining about. You might think that this photo is VERY, VERY old but my Mum was having trouble with her new brownie camera and didn't know how to focus properly. That's my story and I'm sticking to it. (My Dad says that a lot.)

Next time I think I'll return as Pinnochio because if Pinnochio's nose grew from the lies he told and if his nose really was made of wood like the one I saw in the toy shop the other day, then my nose would be long enough to keep a camp fire burning all night long (if it was chopped into small pieces) due to all the 'stories' I made up writing this blog.

SWEET DREAMS EVERYONE.

Pssst! You don't have to be asleep to have sweet dreams. Practice having them with your eyes wide open. I do.

THANK YOU FOR VIEWING. HAVE A GREAT DAY.

larger banner TH .png

Sort:  

beautiful and my kids also love lolly shop, you from austrlia , one my friend was from australia, so i do not know now she is alive or not, but she was very great person, i liked your article thank respected may you live happy life

Hello @yousafharoonkhan
Lovely to meet you. Thanks very much for sharing your support and appreciation. Greatly Appreciated.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55214.91
ETH 2471.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.24