Unhurried life as seen in the flowers that bloomed

in GEMS4 years ago
I have always felt like there's an invisible chase I have to go through. Move fast or else you'll be left behind. Meeting deadlines after deadlines taught me that there's not so much in the waiting time, I have to move or work my way to get to somewhere. The unhurried life was something I have denied myself for some unknown reasons, maybe because that's the kind of environment I grew up in. We always have to work.

It's funny because amidst those philosophies, as a human being, I am not really that consistent in working hard. Most of the time, I attend some meetings late, always in the rush going to a destination. Most of the time, I choose to rest and take a break for a few minutes or even the entire weekend. In moments I find myself running late for something, or rewarding myself of those 5-minute break, I always get to appreciate the beauty of nature surrounding me.


IMG_4721.JPG


I remember that one summer day, when the sun's rays give that burning feeling when you're walking in the open. I was supposed to meet my friend, I told her I'm already on my way, rushing because I was already late and she's been waiting. From a far, I saw this lonely flower that bloomed in the walkway's island. I stopped and held the flower to take photos of its vibrant color. Even in my rushing to my appointment, I spared a few minutes to just admire how it beautifully bloomed in heat of the summer season.

IMG_8724.JPG


In one of our family vacations, I enjoyed that time we went to Baguio city, it's a city on top of a mountain. It was mid-day when I roamed around the cabin we were staying in, and saw this one showing-off its tiny blooming flowers. Even though that month was particularly cold, I saw a lot of wild shrubs that bloomed in that harsh cold season.

2CBD5B82-B705-45EF-82D7-E5E433EC5B6A.JPG


In our university, graduation season comes with the sunflowers gracing the university lane. For some reasons, our institute brought home this grand tradition and decorated our institute's walkway with sunflowers too. When we had an academic year shift, graduation now falls in the middle of the year. Summer ends and here comes the rainy season. In this season, the typhoons that come are nastier, we experience heavier pouring. Amidst the weather conditions, the university still take the time and effort to cultivate this symbol of the students' milestone. I've been in the university for quite some time already, I've seen typhoons ruin the sunflower lanes. But in the year 2018, the weather turned out perfectly, from the planting of sunflower seeds until it started to bloom. Even in unpredictable times and conditions, the sunflowers bloomed.

What these flowers tell me is that beautiful things bloom perfectly in time. There's no rushing of when will the vibrant colors of its petals will grace the lush plants. We'll have to wait patiently and live the unhurried life.

All photos in this post are my own.

Sort:  

Your post has been curated by us! Received 20.00% upvote from @opb. Do consider delegate to us to help support our project.

Do join our discord channel to give us feedback, https://discord.gg/bwb2ENt

* This bot is upvoting based on the criteria : 1. Not plagiarised, 2. Post > 5min, 3. Author reputation > 25 4. Active engagement with others
Do upvote this commment if you 💚 our service :)

Hello opb!

Congratulations! This post has been randomly Resteemed! For a chance to get more of your content resteemed join the Steem Engine Team

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64432.28
ETH 2648.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78