Do we as individuals really matter?

in GEMS4 years ago (edited)

I was thinking about the fact that I am just one person, out of about 5.2 billion people on the planet yesterday. I was startled by my individual insignificance on the world stage. I reflected on that fact, that perhaps I am like a single grain of sand on the beach or a single hair on a dog. This type of numerical contemplation can make you feel worthless and insignificant as if you don’t matter. Conversely it can motivate you to want to stand out, to want to be significant and to make your life matter.

AB6F604F99D146058377B991E3CBCF89.jpeg

My parents always said that if you think the glass is half full your probably right. Or if you think the glass is half empty your probably right. You see it is a matter of perspective, attitude and choice. It seems that as in all things in life we have a choice about how we view a situation and that choice makes a big difference.

I remember sitting in a waiting room for an interview and there were four other young men sitting there also. I remember think that we all had dark slacks, grey suit coats, white shirts and blue ties. I decided we all looked so much a like we should talk and possibly be friends. I started with the guy yo my right and proceeded counter clockwise striking up conversation. It became humorous as we realized we all had similar college degrees, similar backgrounds and all had no job experience. Each confessed to feeling as if they would be quickly forgotten by the interviewer and each thought they wouldn’t get the job. Surprisingly each had a unique trait, which made them stand out in my mind, but each viewed their uniqueness as a liability instead of an asset. I found myself alone in feeling like what ever traits made me unique would also make me memorable and increase my chance of getting the job.

By the end of our conversations I think I convinced each one that they possessed unique traits which could make them memorable and suggested they work it into the conversation with the interview. We all went in to be interviewed and each came out, said goodbye and good luck. I was happy that we arrived as contestants but parted as friends. We each realized that the job was important, but perhaps we all learned something more important that day. Each of us possesses unique and special qualities which are gifts we bring to the world. We should use our talents to the best of our ability to maximize our success and happiness and to contribute to the world in some small way that only we can do because we are unique.

By Shortsegments.

Here for 25 moons on Steemit.

AB4F49E9F7A24AD4B215D09E1AA9F428.jpeg

Sort:  

Did you get the job?

LOL. Yes. Funny story. Two other candidates told the waiting room story to the interviewer, who decided to recommend me for the job.

We each realized that the job was important, but perhaps we all learned something more important that day.

if we started looking this way, most of the problems will be solved automatically. You know many people not give second interview if they fail in 1st. you have to keep trying. anyway nice post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62922.70
ETH 2543.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83