I stepped on a piece of glass but I'm alive

in GEMS4 years ago

Yesterday, I was working on my composition that I need to finish by the next week. Everything was normal. I was planning to study for my statistics exam later. It was just a normal Sunday and I had so much stuff to do for the day.

image.png

Then, as I was walking in the room and thinking about a part in my composition that I was stuck in, suddenly, I felt a horrible pain in my right heel. The pain was very sharp, which made me scream and fall to the ground. I touched my heel and I could feel the edge of the object that was inside my foot. I assumed it was a needle. Actually, I was pretty sure that it was a needle, because the pain I felt made me inevitably imagine that object as something very long, firm and sharp---and that couldn't be anything other than a needle.

Luckily, my brother was home and he ran for help the moment he heard my scream. I was panicking because my foot was bleeding and my few attempts to get that thing out was unsuccessful. We decided not to try any further because our attempts would have pushed it deeper inside my foot, thereby causing more severe damage. While I was lying on the floor, my brother was trying to call an ambulance for me, since my foot was still bleeding so it felt like we needed to be faster. However, we ended up being informed that the service of the ambulance was not including these kinds of injuries and that we had to get to the hospital by ourselves.

Despite hesitating for a moment whether to wait for our parents to come back home or call a taxi right away, we quickly decided that the latter was a better option. Thank god, after getting to the taxi, we were able to reach a doctor very soon and get that piece extracted from my foot.

What was surprising is that for all the time being, I was thinking that it was a needle, so I was pretty shocked when the doctor showed me a piece of glass as the thing he removed from my foot at the end.

I feel okay now, though it hurts a bit when I walk. I try to avoid making my heel touch the surface so that hopefully my scar can heal quicker.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59541.21
ETH 2543.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53