Growing 'Red leafy' in a pot | How you can do that too?

in GEMS4 years ago

Gardening became my newest hobby in this pandemic. I find it's way more helpful to kill boredom and feel fresh.

collage.jpg

I usually do grow and take care of decorative, flower plants. But for over a month now, I'm trying some vegetables, fruits. I wouldn't say I'm into it to meet my nutritional need because I don't have a huge space to give them. But it's certainly making me happy.

Red leafy or red amaranth is one of the common vegetables in Bangladesh. It's one of the superfoods yet it's very cheap & easy to grow. Actually, it's available around the whole country so I never thought to grow it on my own. But it's a nice experience to grow some food on our own, right?

IMG_20200715_180022.jpg

The seed of red leafy is available in any seed store. It looks like black sand. You have to choose a good soil for the germination process. After a few days plants will show their growth.

IMG_20200715_180027.jpg
Two weeks old plants

If you like you can plant the small red leafy in a different pot. But it's not necessary, if you leave it there it will grow quite well. In two weeks it will be ready to eat or cook. But for the full grown plant, you have to wait 30-40 days. The best this is it doesn't require much care. Sunlight, well-drained water, and good soil are enough; it will grow well on its own.

IMG_20200715_180003.jpg

IMG_20200715_175956.jpg

I use an old bucket to plant them on my rooftop. Also, I make a few mini holes to drain the water properly. And nothing else. My neighbor also uses the same bucket to grow her cucumber plant. Though the soil was not that good you can see the results. That's why I was saying it doesn't take much to grow it.

You can put it in a salad or use the leaves for cooking. Like I add it with lentils sometimes or cook it like vegetables. I hope you will try this at home!

THANKS FOR YOUR LOVE AND SUPPORT!

Much Love


Who I am?
I'm a Happy and Proud stay home Mom of a toddler boy.
I'm a life & nature enthusiast, I love to learn human psychology, I'm a 'Book worm' and very introvert but also love to travel. I'm trying to live mindfully and most importantly, I'm a positive learner.

Find me on other Social Places
Twitter Discord

Proudly supporting

2bP4pJr4wVimqCWjYimXJe2cnCgn3kLhX4mFyfEDYop.png

vM1pGHgNcyCXUWJECrZbvn1NMPj1oFGUo3gYfF3NNPRD9bTqisvs9xgB75G9xPgZbPT4QuApQtpz6ThdHJ584iLp3K2DCBSTkTAky9Uw1ambwSjhpTFxnMpgTQk62VyQomsFW7g.png

MINDFULLIFE.png

ecotrain-banner3.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64513.75
ETH 3146.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95