Street Food from Christmas Market, Kharkiv || Recalling Memories...

in GEMS4 years ago

Before coming here in Ukraine, I had no idea about Christmas and how people celebrate it. I am from Bangladesh and we don't celebrate Christmas so it was obvious, that I didn't have any knowledge about Christmas before 2018. I only saw pictures, some videos and heard about Christmas tales but never experienced in person.

Well, This is not the Holiday season I know but I am sharing my experience here... Because for the first time I saw how people celebrate Christmas and new year here in Kharkiv, Ukraine, and I have gathered some experiences of culture... I was scrolling my phone gallery today and found these pictures of last Christmas...

I have shared many pictures of Holiday season including videos before. But I didn't share the food from Christmas Market which I have tasted on last Christmas. Basically these are street food but you can also say food from temporary stores...


20191223_165647.jpg


Last year I and my friend, went to the biggest Christmas market in Kharkiv. Actually, it's not the biggest but the Christmas tree was the biggest and the entrance was beautiful. Every year this central zone of Kharkiv turns into a festive zone during the holiday season. People all over the Kharkiv come here to celebrate Newyear and Holiday season.


20191223_163311.jpg

20191223_163314.jpg

20191223_163317.jpg

qjrE4yyfw5pEPvDbJDzhdNXM7mjt1tbr2kM3X28F6SraZk9NVAZuEFF6kwTcNnyLQzJMZ8Nd2tyTgjA2ugbViLGaJGFaXXz917DUgGveyrbHPHkh3HBYAgUv.png



This was the sitting area of the Christmas market, in the picture you can see it. This was a very traditional market. Many stores full of Christmas decor were available but prices were high though. Some were selling Christmas candy, toys, socks... But most of them were food shops and drinks shop.


20191223_162004.jpg

20191223_162001.jpg


My friend and I spent almost 3 hours walking here and exploring all the shops. Some stores were selling some kind of drinks which I never tasted before. Of course, root beer was one of the highlighted drinks.

I don't eat pork so it's hard for me to buy food from any restaurant/shop. Finally, we found a shop where Polv and Lentils were available. Also, they were selling shawarmas as well. The shop was from Afgan people. Anyway, I bought and tasted their Polv, it was good. Polv is a kind of rice which is served with some meat.


20191223_163301.jpg


Later we found a grill bar where they were selling BBQ chicken, beef, and Grill chicken. Also, the kebab was available.


20191223_163254.jpg


20191223_163255.jpg20191223_163304.jpg20191223_163308.jpg

qjrE4yyfw5pEPvDbJDzhdNXM7mjt1tbr2kM3X28F6SraZk9NVAZuEFF6kwTcNnyLQzJMZ8Nd2tyTgjA2ugbViLGaJGFaXXz917DUgGveyrbHPHkh3HBYAgUv.png



This was not a 100% halal shop for Muslims and it is foolishness to expect halal food in the Christmas market for myself. Anyway, we ordered the chicken grill and Lavash (roti) and waited for 20 minutes. It was cheap compared to other food shops.


20191223_163759.jpg


Honestly speaking I was not happy with the chicken pieces. They were too dry and kind of rubbery. Maybe overcooked that's why sauce didn't work for me at all. And the Lavash was hard like a biscuit. It was crunchy and the overall grill lavash combination was worse...

I should have taken root beer instead...

Worst food I have ever tasted in Kharkiv but nothing to do...


20191223_165750.jpg

20191223_160712.jpg

20191223_160715.jpg

qjrE4yyfw5pEPvDbJDzhdNXM7mjt1tbr2kM3X28F6SraZk9NVAZuEFF6kwTcNnyLQzJMZ8Nd2tyTgjA2ugbViLGaJGFaXXz917DUgGveyrbHPHkh3HBYAgUv.png



Despite having bad food, I and my friend really enjoyed exploring the market and our girly gossip. I was watching my old videos today and saw this Christmas video as well. Because of lockdown, everything changed now but this sweet memory made me laugh and smile. Especially the face which I have made when I saw my food... Hahaha...

Memories never die... We just need to call them to make us smile again...

I wanted to write this post long ago but I forgot... BUT IT'S BETTER LATE THAN NEVER...



qjrE4yyfw5pEPvDbJDzhdNXM7mjt1tbr2kM3X28F6SraZk9NVAZuEFF6kwTcNnyLQzJMZ8Nd2tyTgjA2ugbViLGaJGFaXXz917DUgGveyrbHPHkh3HBYAgUv.png


Explore Life with Priyan...


DSC_0610.JPG

Love

Priyan...



"I am @priyanarc.... An architect, a dreamer, and a passionate writer who loves to write about life. I try to present my own perspective and experiences. Please leave your feedback and criticism because it's the only way I can know and reach your mind and thought easily..."



Find me on youtube
Don't forget to subscribe to my channel...
You can find me on Twitter


Original post written by @priyanarc

All the pictures used are captured by the author...



Snapchat1407797301.jpg


qjrE4yyfw5pEPvDbJDzhdNXM7mjt1tbr2kM3X28F6SraZk9NVAZuEFF6kwTcNnyLQzJMZ8Nd2tyTgjA2ugbViLGaJGFaXXz917DUgGveyrbHPHkh3HBYAgUv.png

Sort:  

Thank You @priyanarc for being a loyal supporter of @onelovedtube!
💖 Your post has been supported in return 💖

Thank you for being awesome! You just got upvoted by the @steemingcurators. We are voting with the Steemit Community Curator @steemcurator02 account to support the best content on Steemit!

Follow @steemingcurators and also the official @steemitblog for info about Steemit, contests and the Daily Diary Challenge! Share your stories on Twitter or other social media to get extra upvotes. Just comment the link in your posts!

Biggest Live Music contest on Steemit #MusicForSteem
Follow @musicforsteem and the official community on Steemit: MusicForSteem🎵
STEEM ON!

¡Gracias por ser increible! Te acaban de votar los @steemingcurators. ¡Votamos con la cuenta de curador comunitario @steemcurator02 para apoyar el mejor contenido en Steemit!

¡Sigue a @steemingcurators y también a @steemitblog para obtener información sobre Steemit, concursos y el juego diario! Comparte tus publicaciones en Twitter u otras redes sociales para obtener votos adicionales. ¡Solo comenta el enlace en tus publicaciones!

El mayor concurso de música en vivo en Steemit #MusicForSteem
Sigue a @musicforsteem y únete a la comunidad oficial en Steemit: MusicForSteem🎵
Arriba Steem!

Thank you...

Wow!! @priyanarc it was really a nice experience,

Christmas is fun with lots of activities,

I do travel home every christmas festive season and the celebrations are always superbbb.

Yes it was, I spent a good time with my friend...

Beautiful photos of Christmas stores. Congratulations

Thank you...

Congratulations, your post has been upvoted by @scilwa, which is a curating account for @R2cornell's Discord Community. We can also be found on our hive community & peakd as well as on my Discord Server

Manually curated by @abiga554

r2cornell_curation_banner.png

Felicitaciones, su publication ha sido votado por @scilwa. También puedo ser encontrado en nuestra comunidad de colmena y Peakd así como en mi servidor de discordia

Hi there sis, it's definitely fun to be with a friend during travels and it's also safe. Too bad the chicken grill didn't seem to be good for you. The best part is that you've seen amazing light that the country has to offer during Christmas. Indeed a memoral travel worth sharing.

One of my best memories so far in Kharkiv, it was really a beautiful evening...

Yes! I admit memories never die. I remember few wonderful memories by watching your sweet posts.

Exactly,,, :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64349.20
ETH 2673.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83