You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Thoughts on Crossposts, Reposts, and Evergreen Content

in GEMS4 years ago

I've been using old artwork a lot. At first, I never did such a thing because I assumed folks would think I was being lazy... yet those same folks who at the time would complain about something like that, were sometimes using the same damn images from pixabay over and over and over. Dig for long enough here and you'll see hundreds of posts that have the same images from pixabay, published by many different people.

I'm thinking I've produced about 1000 images or more since being here. I made my own pixabay and sometimes I'll use these images more than once. Why not? If I pull up an old image, there's a strong chance my followers today are seeing it for the first time. It's not spam. Of course, if all I did was post the same three images constantly, people would lose interest in my blog. That would be a dumb move, so why would I do that?

NoNamesLeftToUse - Wicked Warren.jpeg

Were you expecting to see Wicked Warren today? No. Chances are that's the first time you've seen him. Wicked Warren might want to be a character in a future story someday. Do the creators of the Simpsons start from scratch with every episode and create a new cast? No. They use what they have.

Sort:  

I've kept a folder with all my Steem post images for organizational purposes that has numbered folders within for each post. I'm just under 400.

If my content was tracking Bitcoin charts or talking about politics or the weather, I could totally understand this. But there's definitely A LOT of content where this makes absolutely no sense. It's time for us to stop acting like a tiny little village talent show and get serious about being a place for the worlds best creators.

Must be nice to be organized. I have a folder for each season. Everything is just thrown in there. My WIP folder has thousands of files that all say wip03012020 or whatever date it was when last saved. Works for me though. If I'm working on textures for game mods or something, I'm far more organized, but that world is separate from this one. This world is fast paced so I cut corners to save time, but I digress.

This:

it makes more sense to continuously incentivise the creators with the highest value content than it does to "spread it around to everyone". If we use our collective stake to keep the best creators here, we'll get "the rest" because they will come here to CONSUME content

I also agree with that. It's supposed to be a lot of work to gain traction in this online arts and entertainment world as an independent creator. There's no such thing as a participation award. The early days are always hard. Even in the music world, an artist or group will release a song. It might be a hit locally at the bar or club, or maybe got 2000 listens online. Then they manage to sign a deal with someone. They release that same song but this time around it has millions of youtube views and the downloads show no sign of slowing down.

A noob showing up here today should know their content is valuable and it's not the end of the world if things don't go right the first time. Look how well things go for some folks when they take something they knew was fire and rework it into something like a Showcase Sunday post. Galen is sitting up there nice and high on the trending page today and totally deserves it. Same thing happened to you I think the first week we all tried it. I'm kind of rambling and all over the place but I'd cringe each time over years when I'd read a disgruntled Steemian saying the content here sucks. No. The content is great. The curation sucks. Things are really starting to get better now though. Today's trending page 'all posts' on Steemit was solid. Sorry for the ramble, dude. Too much coffee.

To be entirely honest, as an experienced online creator: the early days/weeks/months rewards on Steem are an utopia.

One must have built years of following online to come anywhere close to that when starting a new profile on a platform or a new site. On Steem, one not too shabby introduceyourselfpost... BOOM!
Next few OCD upvotes (pre-communities) and few curie upvotes. TRIPLEBOOM!

Most people who create elsewhere will never earn in first 12-18 months combined what an average steemian can make in first 2-3 months. Then, when elsewhere a profile and traffic start to grow... on steem one risks finding the vacuum of merely minimal support trails. Everywhere else it's usually at least 12-18 months of hard work to grow a profile to a degree of support and many give up again in that time. Here, it feels the curve is inversed and thus wrong.

We've seen way too many solid creators disappear because of that.

!ENGAGE 30

Many become confused or something. I've said this before but for me personally, I want to sell out a stadium. I'd love it if this place had hundreds of thousands of consumers with tiny 1 cent upvotes. Produce my content, get 30000 'likes' much like a Youtube video, then feel like it was a job well done. The confused members here seem to only want that one big whale vote. Instead of selling out a stadium, they're performing for that one guy in the front row. For some, they only came for 'rewards' and their content is just filler. If some of these folks printed off their post and tried to sell it on the street in paper form, they'd be better off just sitting down with a cup, asking for spare change. Nobody would buy that shit. The real artists and real writers, the ones who work for eyes and hope for votes, they're the ones we need to focus on.



@nonameslefttouse you have received 30 ENGAGE from @fknmayhem!
View and trade the tokens on Steem Engine.


This tip bot is powered by witness untersatz!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65834.37
ETH 3292.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70