April Showcase - Steem Meetup In Tampere

in GEMS4 years ago (edited)

I made this post on Saturday 28 2019 after the meeting with a number of Finnish Steemians in Tampere was over. One of them was none other than @tarazkp. This is about the wonderful day with the people I'd been interacting with a couple of year whom I met for the first time.


There were seven of us present. Other than myself, @tarazkp, his wife @momone and his daughter @smallsteps, @evenuncovered, @celestal and @insaneworks had come to the meetup. I had a chance to tell @smallsteps, 3, that I was a big admirer of her arithmetic and jumping skills. We went to eat at Plevna and @smallsteps was seated next to me in her high chair. We had a discussion about the letters in the napkins, all of which she knew. From what I've heard and seen on video that was just scratching the surface of her skillset. Impressive, most impressive. @celestal fully lived up to his reputation as a big eater. Not even Plevna's famous sausage pan apparently quite managed to satisfy his appetite. Speaking of big eaters, @insaneworks and I both remembered Käytöskukkanen from our childhood that featured the illustrious Pac Man like figure Suursyömäri (the Great Eater), the antagonist of the show and a nemesis to the two piglets who were the main characters of the cartoon show.

I had only met @tarazkp before. There was not a single awkward moment during the whole nine-hour meetup filled with conversations about the past, the present and the future of Steem most likely incomprehensible to the uninitiated, which started at Taikapapu, a coffee shop conveniently located near the railway station. After we were done having coffee, all of us went on a photo walk in the city center. We ended up on the shore of Lake Pyhäjärvi and from there to restaurant Plevna to eat. During the walk back to the city center I made a detour to get my car from the parking lot near the coffee shop. After eating we went for coffee at Finlayson's, a former factory turned into a shopping mall and office space. We continued to shoot photos on a bridge over the rapid close to Plevna. When the meetup was over, I gave @celestal a ride to Hervanta and headed back to my parent's house. Relaxing in the sauna was most welcome at that point.

Our walk:

A new bridge over Tammerkoski rapid for pedestrians and cyclists

This the last bridge over the rapid before it discharges into Lake Pyhäjärvi

Lake Pyhäjärvi

A pine tree close next to where I took the previous picture

Some foliage at the lakeshore

I'm on my way to get my car now. This is Hämeenkatu, the main street of Tampere.

IMG_1806.JPG

We had coffee at Finlayson. There were restaurants and coffee shops built on the factory floor.

This is Tammerkoski rapid upstream close to Plevna and Finlayson.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63701.36
ETH 3076.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81