My Wuhan virus journey from Taiwan to UK

in GEMS4 years ago (edited)

Everyone, ok I'm exaggerating not everyone but loads and loads of people, have been writing about the Wuhan virus these couple of weeks. I almost feel left out for not writing one myself.

DSC_7827_edited.jpg
Before I do, DKK wants to say hi to everyone, you may remember him from last year's video!!


LEAVING TAIWAN

In my post last week, I talked about how I had to suddenly change my travel plans to come back to England. With the Wuhan virus escalating since January, Taiwan was getting stricter with non residents entering the country. On Valentine's day, hubby and I left for Singapore. It was supposed to be a visa run / Valentines weekend away. We ended up leaving with three suitcases not knowing when we'd be back. So much for a Valentine's break.
DSC_0255_edited.jpg

A couple of days before I was due to fly out, the Wuhan virus had blew up in Singapore. Just my luck! I was supposed to get away from it not towards it! Both airports in Taiwan and Singapore were pretty deserted.
DSC_6993.JPG
DSC_6995.JPG


ARRIVING UK

A week after leaving Taiwan, I finally arrived back to the UK on 21st February. Home sweet home. However, my Wuhan virus journey was far from over yet, the toughest part was just to begin. Although I'm pretty sure I'm not infected as I've been keeping my distance from people, I still decided to self quarantine myself. I wanted to make sure my family, particularly the kids like DKK were safe.
DSC_7741.JPG

When I arrived UK, we only had 9 confirmed cases of the Wuhan virus. People were pretty chilled out about the whole situation. Two weeks later, it had rose to 160 cases. Panic buying had started and these are the supermarket shelves when I went to get my groceries. A familiar scene in many countries across the world now. The Wuhan virus had followed me to UK, but I swear I didn't bring it with me!!!!
DSC_7794.JPG

DSC_0262_edited.jpg

Finally, after two weeks self quarantine near London, I finally headed back home to the west country. This is my first glimpse of London for a long time, it was gloomy but it was great to see London and home again.

DSC_7806.JPG

DSC_7809.JPG


You can checkout all my travel post on the Steem WorldMap here or click on the map below

Sort:  

Welcome back! I hope it is not going to blow up here, like in Italy.

We have decided to work from home and not to go out on weekends — also, online grocery shopping. Good thing - we are still OK for toilet paper, lol!

I am sure this virus will die out in a month time.

I think going out should be ok (?) if you drive and go outdoors and keep your distance from people. That's one advantage of coming back home ascwr have more open space here.

Good work on the toilet roll situation, that's one less thing to worry about 😂

!engage 30



@rimicane you have received 30 ENGAGE from @livinguktaiwan!
View and trade the tokens on Steem Engine.


This tip bot is powered by witness untersatz!

Funny thing is, we ran out of condoms. Probably they prepared for entertainment purpose when lock down commence 😂 !tip !shop

Posted using Partiko Android

I did not know, thanks for the information

You're welcome, glad to be able to provide public service announcement 😊



@davidke20 you have received 30 ENGAGE from @livinguktaiwan!
View and trade the tokens on Steem Engine.


This tip bot is powered by witness untersatz!

Take care! I just knew the different mask wearing culture and impression of wearing mask between East and West :O

Thanks, most don't wear mask here, those who do are mainly the random Asians
!engage 30



@nanosesame you have received 30 ENGAGE from @livinguktaiwan!
View and trade the tokens on Steem Engine.


This tip bot is powered by witness untersatz!

A Chinese immigrant friend of mine who lives with her husband in Birmingham has been subjected to some pretty awful treatment by strangers, but then again, it might just be people being jerks. I hope that doesn't happen to you

Yes, there's been quite a few cases in UK unfortunately. My niece's 8 year old who is Chinese/english mixed, was told by another kid at school he got the virus coz he's Chinese 😠😡

!engage 30

too mean 🤬

I blame the parents as what does an 8 year old know apart from what their parents tell them 😞



@gooddream you have received 30 ENGAGE from @livinguktaiwan!
View and trade the tokens on Steem Engine.


This tip bot is powered by witness untersatz!

Our panic buy has stopped for now. Still no mask but there are the reusable ones selling more now. I bought a pack of toilet paper even though I still have just because it was on special offer but end up losing money because scanned it twice at the self checkout counter. Yes paid twice the amount. C'est la vie. Time to go to the airport and save some back with free parking. 😎

It must be back to normal if they're doing special offer. At least it meant you just bought at standard prices.

The Jewel was pretty busy, seems like people aren't too concerned. Hope you enjoy it there
!engage 30



@ace108 you have received 30 ENGAGE from @livinguktaiwan!
View and trade the tokens on Steem Engine.


This tip bot is powered by witness untersatz!

Wow! I have no idea how I missed the previous post with the little one but he's so adorable :) :)
I also love the way airports from Taiwan and Singapore look like. I love seeing nature in public places!

I know, he's really cute isn't he, grown so much since I saw him last year

!Engage 30



@gabrielatravels you have received 30 ENGAGE from @livinguktaiwan!
View and trade the tokens on Steem Engine.


This tip bot is powered by witness untersatz!

didn't know it was this bizarre 9 to 160 dang. Here in South America, there are not much yet but people start to act scared of me also lol All the empty soap selves and empty airport are funny.

Hope things are going good for you. Hope the little dkk is safe and sound <3 super cute kid

It's actually gone up to nearly 800 today and that's within a week!

South American seems pretty safe, haven't heard many cases there, hopefully it stays that way, but I thought you could have sort of blend in quite easily ^_^

btw HB!!!!



@waybeyondpadthai you have received 30 ENGAGE from @livinguktaiwan!
View and trade the tokens on Steem Engine.


This tip bot is powered by witness untersatz!

Glad you made it back to UK and are safe and healthy. DKK is adorable!

Thanks Sara! Hope things are all well in your part of the world. Seems like no place is immune now. You take care as well

!engage 30

Thanks your post inspired me to write about my experience too. Take care too.



@sjarvie5 you have received 30 ENGAGE from @livinguktaiwan!
View and trade the tokens on Steem Engine.


This tip bot is powered by witness untersatz!

Hope all is well in Taiwan. It is getting praises around the world for the great job it is doing!!

!engage 30



@deanliu you have received 30 ENGAGE from @livinguktaiwan!
View and trade the tokens on Steem Engine.


This tip bot is powered by witness untersatz!

Hey hey! Good lucky in this new Journey! The good side: have nephews to play and enjoy! I miss mine too! 💞

Great nephews!!! I come from a big family ^_^
But yeah, it's really great to be back and see everyone especially the kids as they grow up so quick

!engage 30



@helgalubevi you have received 30 ENGAGE from @livinguktaiwan!
View and trade the tokens on Steem Engine.


This tip bot is powered by witness untersatz!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61830.08
ETH 2986.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73