A QUARANTINE STORY: Highlight of My Days in Lockdown

in GEMS4 years ago

Hello everyone, hope I meet you all doing good?



Its been three weeks since the quarantine began here in Nigeria as a result of the cononavirus pandemic. But it's just the first full half of the 14days lockdown here in my city, Sagamu, Ogun-State, Nigeria. So far, I've been indoor all through for the past seven (7) days, and I've been trying to live life at its best so as stay happy and positive during this period. And I must confess, my mental state has been drastically adapting to this new change.
So far, during the course of this lockdown, I've been involved in various activities within the house. My initial plan was to continually document how I spend my day daily. But due to some circumstances, I couldn't meet up to that task. But I'm still glad I can share with you some highlights of my days so far.

I made fries which didn't turn out well

I was craving for fries this particular day, so I decided to try frying some sweet potatoes. Although I've never made them before, but I've heard on or two people discuss the process before. So I felt I could just go ahead based on the little info I have on it. Besides, it's just to fry the potatoes in oil rather than boiling it in water.
So, I got to the kitchen, reached for the potatoes where it was been stored, peeled it and washed it. Those were pretty easy steps. So I got to the part where I was to fry the potatoes, I heated the oil and gently placed the potatoes into the hot oil which you've seen up there. I left it to fry for some minutes and came back rushing in to pack it out. Only to discover it was already looking over fried. It didn't burn tho. But despite the fact that it over fried and appears so brown which it shouldn't be, I was still surprised the inner part of the potatoes were still hard and uncooked. It ended up been a cook fail

I carried out some Laundry job

This was my first laundry activity in three weeks. I've hardly had clothes to launder since I've not been going out. The clothes I laundered were my bed spreadings and the non sophisticated clothes I wear within the house. Laundry job is something I really like to do. I've once considered starting a laundry business. Maybe I would give it reconsideration when the pandemic is over.

I made a Toast

Yeah, this particular day I made just a toast. It's funny how cravings can drive you into doing some silly things. I wasn't really desire to eat much of it but I wanted it so I made just a single toast. It was just a toast of sardine fish, butter, and egg with the breads. It tasted nice.

I set some challenges for myself

So far, my days hasn't really been productive. It just comes and goes without me having anything tangible to point at as an achievement for that day. Fortunately for me, I stumbled across @anomadsoul "Quarantine goals and challenges initiative" during the week and I decided to take hold of that opportunity to also set some challenges for myself durning this quarantine period. So I gave myself two major challenges, and I also wrote down the time I'll be dedicating into accomplishing these challenges and pasted it right on the wall in front of my working deck.

You can see the full story of my goals and challenges here.


These are just few out of the actives I carried out during the week in lockdown. Been on quarantine or lockdown shouldn't hinder anyone from living life at its best. We should remain calm and positive about the situation and hope a cure/vaccine will be found soon. Till then .....🖋

...

THANKS FOR VISITING MY BLOG
BEST REGARDS

@k-banti

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing your experience with us!
TIBLogo

You have been curated by @hafizullah on behalf of Inner Blocks: a community encouraging first hand content, with each individual living their best life, and being responsible for their own well being. #innerblocks Check it out at @innerblocks for the latest information and community updates, or to show your support via delegation.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 63721.78
ETH 3503.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54