STEEM Challenge - My Favorite MoviesteemCreated with Sketch.

in GEMS4 years ago

I think it's probably pretty easy to tell my favorite movie

All you have to do is look at my avatar.

Yep, Tombstone has been my favorite movie for many years now, probably a couple decades to be more precise.

If you aren't familiar, the movie tells the true story of the Shootout at the O.K. Corral.

It tells the story of the Earp brothers and their long standing feud with the Cochise County Cowboys.

Which of course was headlined by none other than Wyatt Earp himself, one of the most famous "lawmen" to ever live.

However, the reason I like the movie so much has very little to do with the backstory or Wyatt Earp.

No, I like this movie so much because of the man in my avatar...

(Source: https://www.pinterest.com/pin/220113500515356307/)

One Doc Holliday.

If you ask anyone that has seen that movie, they will tell you that Doc was easily their favorite character...

At this point I have seen that movie over a dozen times.

The first time I saw it was with my dad and that is probably part of the nostalgia for me.

We both thought it was such a great movie and both of us loved the Doc Holiday character played by Val Kilmer.

For days after first watching that movie we found ourselves quoting his many iconic and memorable lines, including...

"I've got two guns, one for each of ya"

"I'm your huckleberry"

"I've not yet begun to defile myself"

"Hell, I've got lots of friends... I don't"

"Maybe poker just isn't your game, how about a spelling contest?"

"Say when"

I could go on and on and on... and hopefully you watched the youtube clip to see the many awesome one liners.

My dad and I continue to quote lines from this movie over and over to this very day, especially on the golf course.

And just about every time we do it brings with it a smile and a chuckle.

Over time, tt becomes more than just a movie, it becomes a part of you, and a part of your family.

A part of your life and something that lives far beyond those 2 hours that the movie was playing.

There are only a handful of movies that have impacted me like that and Tombstone was one of them.

Stay informed my friends.

-Doc

Sort:  

Thank you for taking part in the 100 Days of Steem Weekly Writing Challenge.

Keep following @steemitblog for new challenges every week.

The Steemit Team

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63219.83
ETH 2574.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78