Enhancing a Functional Craft Spinner / Realzando un Spinner artesanal FUNCIONAL

in GEMS4 years ago

Enhancing a Functional Craft Spinner / Realzando un Spinner artesanal FUNCIONAL

WhatsApp Image 2020-05-05 at 5.48.25 PM.jpeg


Greetings friends! Welcome to a new Post!

Saludos amigos! Sean bienvenidos a un nuevo Post!


Today I'm showing you another of my many crafts. Previously, about 2 years ago, a fashion came out here in Venezuela that drove all the kids crazy! A toy called "Spinner" a little thing that only spins.... I didn't really see the science in it, because I couldn't find the logic to buy something just to make it spin. But as I mentioned it was "the feeling", unfortunately at that time I was in a pretty tight economic situation and couldn't just spend money on a toy that I knew would go in the toy chest after 1 or 2 months.

Hoy les vengo a mostrar otra de mis tantas manualidades. Anteriormente, alrededor de 2 años atrás, salió una moda acá en Venezuela que volvió locos a todos los niños!!! Un juguete llamado “Spinner” una cosita que solo giraba….. Realmente no le veía la ciencia, debido a que no encontraba la lógica de comprar algo simplemente para que gire. Pero como les mencione era “la sensación”, lamentablemente en ese momento me encontraba pasando una situación económica bastante apretada y no podía simplemente gastar dinero en un juguete que sabía que pasaría al baúl de los juguetes luego de 1 o dos meses.


But come on, I'm a person who likes to fix things and I have a few tools... How hard does it have to be to perform a spinner? It turns out that if you have your science... And it took me some work to make my version of Spinner functional!

Pero vamos, soy una persona que le gusta arreglar cosas y tengo una que otra herramienta…. Que tan difícil ha de ser realizar un Spinner?? Resulto que si tiene su ciencia…. Y me costó algo de trabajo hacer mi versión de Spinner funcional!


The point is that I used a piece of wood and a bearing that I bought, and I made a quite attractive model! "Batman" would be the Spinner's Motive! Make the shape on the wood, put the bearing and... It didn't work... That little thing was spinning twice and stopping... I got really stressed out and had to study some physics to understand that I had to add weight in the corners to generate enough and keep the momentum going longer.

El caso es que use un trozo de madera y un rodamiento que compre, y me dedique a sacar un modelo bastante atractivo! “Batman” seria el Motivo del Spinner! Realice la forma en la madera coloque el rodamiento y…. No funciono…. Esa cosita daba dos vueltas y paraba… me estrese bastante y me toco estudiar algo de física para entender que debía agregar peso en las esquinas para para generar suficiente y mantener el impulso por más tiempo.


I looked among the things for something that had its pair (since it needs the same size and weight to be stable the movement) and I found "coins", so I opened holes to the wings of the batman and glued the coins, now if everything should work... But no... It was spinning clearer, but it was still less than 15 seconds.

Busque entre los cosas algo que tuviera su par (ya que necesita el mismo tamaño y peso para ser estable el movimiento) y encontré “monedas”, así que abrí agujeros a las alas del batman y coloque con pegamento las monedas, ahora si todo debía funcionar…. Pero no…. Giraba más claro, pero seguía siendo menos de 15 segundos.

WhatsApp Image 2020-05-05 at 5.52.03 PM.jpeg


So, already a little frustrated, I look for what may be interfering with the bearing's rotation and discover that the bearing comes lubricated... Which is good if it was going to work for its original purpose... and in this case there needed to be as little friction as possible to improve performance.

Así que, ya un poco frustrado, busque que puede estar interfiriendo el giro del mismo y descubro que el rodamiento viene lubricado…. Lo cual es bueno si fuera a funcionar para su propósito original… y en este caso se necesitaba que existiera la menor fricción posible para mejorar el funcionamiento.

WhatsApp Image 2020-05-05 at 5.52.11 PM.jpeg


In the end after a lot of trial and error I got a pretty functional Big Spinner with a spin time of up to 58 seconds! I also managed to see my son's happy face!

Al final luego de bastante ensayo y error obtuve un Gran Spinner bastante funcional y con una duración de giro de hasta 58 segundos!! Además logre el resultado final ver la cara de alegría de mi hijo!



Well, folks, that's it for today! I hope you enjoyed this reading!

Bueno amigos eso es todo por hoy! Espero que disfrutaran esta lectura!


Remember to stay home and share more creative content!

Recuerden quédense en casa y compartamos más contenidos creativos!

logo josue steemit.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64916.21
ETH 3483.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45