FRUITS AND VEGGIES MONDAY | Mangosteen is fruit of the Summer

in GEMS4 years ago

The mangosteen -- a tropical fruit about the size of a tangerine, whose leathery maroon shell surrounds moist, fragrant, snow-white segments of flesh. Here in the South East Asian countries, people buy them by the bagful for small change, though it is still a seasonal fruit mainly during the summer periods of May till Aug. If you're familiar with the King of Fruits, Durian which is best known for its heatiness; mangosteen is the opposite of it. That's why where durian is sold, it's best companion is mangosteen 😆

Copy of Christmas Desserts and Treats Photo Collage.png

I'm no lover of the mangosteen as it's too cool for my body but when the weather is too hot, I don't mind taking a few myself. As this is my first time buying it from the local fruit stall, I wasn't sure how much it would cost me. But when she told me it was VND140,000 = USD5.97 = MYR25.66, I was indeed shocked. Okay.. it also included 3 large whole mangoes as well. Still quite expensive compared to what I would usually spend on fruits.

There were at least 3 large baskets of mangosteen and I wasn't the only one keen on buying. After all, it is the start of the season so perhaps it is still too early to enjoy this fruit.

tion.png

The outer shell of the mangosteen is hard as such it takes a certain skill to break it open. Turning the fruit upside down, you will see the design at the bottom of the fruit; similar to a clove. The number of clove flowers will determines the number of white-flesh segments inside. There's also another belief that if it's even or odd number, it represents if it's juicy & sweet, though I don't know if it's true.

When it comes to breaking the outer shell, you need to hold it in between your palm with all ten finger interlock and the bottom of the fruit staring at you. Putting pressure on your palms, press the fruit hard and eventually the bottom will break open. Just be careful, as the red juices from the inside of the shell will flow out and stain your clothing and your hands.

You can choose the remove the entire shell before eating the white-flesh or eat as you go. Whichever way, it still taste good 👍.


I'll definitely share more in my next post. Hope you enjoy my photo taken from my Huawei

xvkj4fvznj.png

Come & join FRUITS & VEGGIES MONDAY by @lenasveganliving
• Take and post at least 3 photos of fruits and vegetables. (It can be variety or just one kind from the garden, supermarket or anywhere you wish, PLANT BASED RECIPES ARE WELCOMED).
• One entry only!!!
• PLEASE MAKE SURE THE ENTRY IS 100% ORIGINAL CONTENT!!! (images and text)
• Text must be at least 100 words.
• Use hashtag #fruitsandveggiesmonday
• Mention the creator @lenasveganliving, the host @plantstoplanks and the title FRUITS AND VEGGIES MONDAY

Sort:  

I'm afraid we ain't got mangosteen were I live 😔

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62796.11
ETH 3045.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85