Imagine Dragons Acrylic Painting with Process Video

in GEMS4 years ago (edited)

Hi everyone hope you are having a great day, do you remember the painting of the Imagine Dragons album cover I created? (You can see that here...)Today I will share painting the portraits of the band with a time lapse video of the process.

It is an acrylic painting over two A4 pages and was part of a school project when I was about 15 years old. I used this painting as practice for my final piece the album cover.

I like to start with the main skin tones and then work to the darker tones. If I was to do it again I would use less black and also desaturate the colours. For example the faces are too orange here so I would need to add some blue (opposite colour on colour wheel) to make it look more realistic. Also black rarely works it's better to use very dark blues or a mixture of all the colours.
IMG_20170531_121129323.jpg
Here's a quick time lapse of my process.


The over all painting took a few hours to complete and was filmed with my laptop camera.

Hope you enjoyed my post and thanks for all your support!

- Ian,

Sort:  

Nice one bro. You are improving day by day.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63964.02
ETH 2592.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75