What is Money?

in GEMS3 years ago

business-man-3160009_1280.webpIMAGE SOURCE

Few years ago, I got a beautiful opportunity to work as an editor for a Film production company through a sweet friend, Happy Uduma. I was sincerely not up to date on the latest versions of softwares that were being used to edit at that time. I only knew about the Adobe Premiere CS6 I used in my Film school.

However when I got there, I was asked how much I'd be collecting for editing a feature length movie. I had never edited a feature length movie before. I was only used to editing a short film and I knew I had a terrible problem with my sound editing and color grading.

After working for some days, I had issues with the chief editor who was responsible for screening me there. He made some hurtful comments about my editing and I wasn't comfortable with it.

I think I wasn't comfortable with the pay also because the editing was taking longer than necessary and I felt I didn't have the time to waste there for just a penny.

So, I left.

I left for so many reasons I think..

I was keeping my studio work pending - that means stopping the inflow of cash.

I was spending money on tfare and sometimes feeding (because the truth is, most times the chief editor made sure I was fed).

The condition of living wasn't something I prepared for... I only took the offer because I desperately needed money at that time.

The cash was all that mattered.

Few days after I left, the chief editor sent me a message, proposing I work for free and in exchange, he'd teach me all I need to know about editing a movie.

I didn't want to go because I felt I couldn't stand him after the last hurtful comments he made, so I went to meet my dad and asked for his advice.

My dad is usually one of the few people I meet whenever I have problem with decision making.

Interestingly, after sharing how I felt about the whole thing, he told me to go there and learn. According to him, I'd be open to bigger opportunities when I know more.

I went there with a better mindset and left there learning a great deal.

So what really is money?

Because prior to this experience, money to me was the paper I needed to solve all the pending debt I had. That was the only reason I took the job in the first place. That was also why I was contemplating not taking it.

For there was nothing interesting about taking a job without a monetary return, or is there?

The way we see money is one of the reasons why many do the most silliest things to get it.

The truth is, money is not the cash you hold.

Money is an idea.

When you assume money is the cash you hold, the moment you don't have it with you, you'd believe you are broke.

Have you ever wondered why Femi Otedola bounced back to being one of the richest on Forbes list, after he suffered a great misfortune in business in 2008?

I believe if he saw money as the cash and not an idea, he'd still be in his misery till date.

The value I got from that training that year has brought so much inflow of cash value to my personal business and it will still continue to bring it as long as I live.

So my friend, you really don't need money to get money as people say, you just need an idea.

Same as, most time you don't need money to start a business.

You just need an idea.

When you know how to solve a pressing need, you'd make tons of money.

You don't need to look for money to learn a skill before you can earn...

Sometimes, you just need to know what you are already gifted with.

That could be the start for you.

Don't blame the government for your misfortune...

Inasmuch as we all know that some of their policies have influenced the condition of living, they shouldn't be responsible for controlling our personal economy.

Don't forget,
"I am interested in seeing you become a better person while I work on me too"

Assisted by Joseph Adeleke.

#personaldevelopmentcoach

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63914.94
ETH 3312.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.92