Commission #15 Swamp Cannibal Sunflower | Digital Art

in GEMS4 years ago

Here I am again, yes, yes, the amateur artist with a new commission for @smanuels. Today I will talk to you about nature, while you and I are locked up, she regenerates and takes a well deserved break from all the pollution our people generate, but the sunflower you see today evolved to stop being crushed.

Luckily it doesn't eat humans yet, it evolved and is now as tall and deadly as any cannibal plant, sunflowers are supposed to be plants that feed on the sun and the earth, but it learned to adapt and develop its darkest and darkest part, although it has a little distinction, it is beautiful in all its splendor, showing how beauty can be destructive, and so admirable that if you get close enough, it would devour you without hesitation and surely starts eating more humans because of you, please don't give it a taste of human flesh! Let him eat only other plants in peace.

Description
-Headdress: The sunflower is open and has an opening that serves as a mouth, letting the red acid fall through the main part of the body.
-Torso clothing: It has a stubby, greenish shape with vines. The predominant color in its body is black, the second is red wine.
-Legs clothing: It does not have.
-Footwear: the roots help you move.
-Arm and hand dressing: it has brambles like whips.
Average height and weight: 5 meters high.

Tools:

  • Wacom Intuos 4
  • Photoshop
  • Medibang Paint

-Step 1:

Start with an ugly sketch, just looking to establish the sunflower on stage, not even two minutes took me to do this, the key is not to erase and let the imagination do its thing, zero details.

-Step 2:

Now, to delineate calmly, trying to make the lines as beautiful as possible, I thought to keep the outline until the end of the illustration, but I could not, only some lines were saved.

-Step 3:

I made a flat color filling in the plant, highlighting a dark stem, the red corrosive liquid and of course the yellow petals characteristic of sunflowers.

-Step 4:

I went to the landscape, it is a swamp, so I drew a couple of trees with long roots typical of swamp ecosystems, the cliché of the fallen trunk and a more solid area with vegetation so that the sunflower can take its lunch. I wanted to focus the attention on the mouth of the sunflower, or rather, on the flower as such, so I colored the outline yellow and I gradually detailed each of the petals, I was enchanted by the hole that is supposed to be its mouth, I achieved that effect of depth by contrasting dark colors with the lighter tones of the flower's surface.

-Step 5:

What should stand out in a cannibalistic sunflower? The answer is almost obvious, its mouth and its food, therefore here it takes a main role and red liquid, therefore I dedicated myself to make more interesting and realistic the filaments around the opening of its mouth and give more brightness to the corrosive liquid, you can see how this blackens the ground where it falls. The swamps are dark, so I darkened the atmosphere of the illustration a bit, obtaining an atmosphere that @smanuels called "spooky" and he loved it.

Tell me in the comments if you liked it and what sensation it causes in you.


I'll leave you a little gif with the whole process in it, so you can better appreciate the step by step.

See you in a future post!

Thank You for Supporting My Artwork

STEEMLOGOcorto.jpg

Sort:  

1 !BEER Token for you

Sorry, you don't have enough staked BEER in your account. You need 6 BEER in your virtual fridge to give some of your BEER to others. To view or trade BEER go to steem-engine.com

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63004.58
ETH 2548.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81