Citizen of the world ✨ Thoughts on how a trip can change your perspective.

in GEMS4 years ago

Tonight I just felt like listening to a concert of one of my favourite bands and take a look at the pictures I took while travelling. All of a sudden, I was surrounded by so many beautiful memories, people that I met in different places of the world came to my mind and I wondered if they’d be ok in such weird circumstances, as the ones that we are going through.

87DF9416-1424-4E5B-AA76-274FCD794951.jpeg

This is me in Versailles, Paris



Last year, in October I found out that I had been successful in Berlin Marathon’s ballot and I was so looking forward to heading to my forth solo-trip. Just me, myself and my pair of trainers. Due to the sanitary reasons that we’re all aware of, the marathon got cancelled and my plans for that trip got ruined. I’m still grieving for that.

Years ago, before even having the guts of travelling by myself, I felt that my life had to be devoted to work. I used to get to the office at 9am and get back home at midnight, I never thought of any other thing that may be important for me as an Accountant. I wanted to succeed in my career so badly that everything else was worthless... till I got to the point of being 24 years old and suffering from dreadful stress and anxiety.

During that same year, as a gift to myself for graduating from university, I decided it was time to get to know the only place that feels like home to me: London. I visited Europe for almost four weeks and it was impossible for me not to fall in love with the consequences a travel can have in you. I don’t ever want to go back to the perspective I used to have, there’s so much more out there to be known rather than being a slave from 8am to 5pm.

This time I feel the need of taking it a step further: I want to travel for at least three months. Travelling not only changes the way you see things, you get a new point of view on things that you could barely see before. Sometimes we are blind to the things that are the most important, just to get lost in our own chaos. Your soul gets nourished and it makes you enjoy and be as grateful as you have ever been.


721F3ADD-69DC-43B1-8245-8F81FD854776.jpeg

This was in Edinburgh, Scotland

This has been a weird kind of nostalgic night, but my soul tells me to walk through paths I’ve never been in, to meditate in places where there’s nothing to worry about, to sing in languages I don’t even know, to share as much as I can with cultures different than mine and to be as grateful as I can with the universe for allowing me to do it.

Have you ever felt this way?

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been upvoted by @scilwa, which is a curating account for @R2cornell's Discord Community. We can also be found on our hive community & peakd as well as on my Discord Server

Manually curated by @abiga554

r2cornell_curation_banner.png

Felicitaciones, su publication ha sido votado por @scilwa. También puedo ser encontrado en nuestra comunidad de colmena y Peakd así como en mi servidor de discordia

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66824.20
ETH 3503.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62