San Juan Bautista Costumbres y Anécdotas…

in GEMS4 years ago

St. John the Baptist Customs and Anecdotes...

Hola queridos Steemians… El día de hoy ha sido muy especial, mi mami me ha contado varias historias y costumbres que realizaban en su niñez para celebrar estas festividades en familia. Estoy intrigada con algunas.

Hello dear Steemians... Today has been very special, my mommy has told me several stories and customs that they used to do in their childhood to celebrate these festivities with their families. I'm intrigued by some of them.

El-Bautista.jpg
Fuente /// Source:

Me cuentan que hoy 24 de Junio es el día más largo del año, hay celebraciones tradicionales y una serie de curiosos rituales y me los han estado contando durante todo el día… Comienzan el 23 en la noche, todo el 24 hasta las 12 de la noche que dan por terminado estos rituales y siguen las fiestas hasta el amanecer.

They tell me that today June 24th is the longest day of the year, there are traditional celebrations and a series of curious rituals and they have been telling me about them all day long... They start on the 23rd at night, all through the 24th until 12 o'clock at night when they end these rituals and continue the festivities until dawn.

“San Juan to´lo tiene… San Juan to´lo da”.
"San Juan has everything ... San Juan It gives everything".

Este es el proverbio o adagio lo he estado escuchando todo el día, mi mami me ha contado que se acostumbraba hacer muchas peticiones, entiendo algo así como que, pedían muchos deseos.

This is the proverb or adage I've been hearing all day, my mommy told me that she used to make many requests, I understand something like, they made many wishes.

Estos son algunos rituales de los que me han contado:
These are some of the rituals I've been told about:

Echar una clara de huevo en medio vaso con agua… Esperar 12 horas y ver que formas habían surgidos, era común que lo interpretaran personas mayores o con mucha imaginación, y así daban un consejo o una predicción. Esto se hacía a las 12 de la noche del día 23 hasta las 12 del mediodía de día 24, o a las 12 del mediodía del 24 hasta las 12 de la noche ya que no podían pasar al día 25.

Pouring an egg white into half a glass of water... Waiting 12 hours and seeing what shapes had emerged, it was common for older people or those with a lot of imagination to interpret it, and so give an advice or a prediction. This was done at 12 midnight on the 23rd until 12 noon on the 24th, or at 12 noon on the 24th until 12 midnight as they could not make it through to the 25th.

Este es otro muy parecido al anterior, se derrama la cera de una vela encendida en un envase con agua, al caer en el agua esta se endurece rápidamente creando formas, el encargado de interpretar el resultado decía los posibles hechos futuros.

This is another one very similar to the previous one, the wax of a lit candle is spilled in a container with water, when falling in the water this one hardens quickly creating forms, the person in charge of interpreting the result said the possible future facts.

Me contaron que existe la creencia que la noche del 23 para el 24, las aguas están benditas por El Bautista, así que debemos lavar nuestras manos para conservar nuestra juventud o lavarnos el cabello para mantenerlo hermoso todo el año.

I was told that there is a belief that on the night of the 23rd to the 24th, the waters are blessed by The Baptist, so we should wash our hands to preserve our youth or wash our hair to keep it beautiful all year round.

Esta otra me gusta más, tengo que buscar nueve flores y colocarlas bajo mi almohada, entonces esta noche tendré un sueño que será sobre mi futuro. Que cosas creo que lo hare.

I like this one better, I have to find nine flowers and put them under my pillow, then tonight I will have a dream that will be about my future. What things I think I will do.

Hay uno que necesitas estar en forma, es un baile tradicional de tambores que comienza el 23 hasta la madrugada del 25, se supone que este baile despoja a los que lo hacen de todas las malas energías que acumulan en el año.

There is one you need to be in shape, it is a traditional drum dance that starts on the 23rd until the early morning of the 25th, this dance is supposed to strip those who do it of all the bad energy they accumulate during the year.

Para los que están cerca del mar deben darse un baño en la noche para tener salud todo el año.

For those who are near the sea, they should take a bath at night to be healthy all year round.

Para protegerse de cosas malas hay que colocarse una ramita de “Ruda” en la oreja durante la noche y San Juan lo protegerá.

To protect yourself from bad things you have to put a twig of "Ruda" in your ear during the night and San Juan will protect you.

Hay otras sobre amor y buscar novio pero esas me las cuentan esta noche, bueno lo dejo hasta aquí luego les cuento más.

There are others about love and looking for a boyfriend but that's what they tell me tonight, well I'll leave it until here then I'll tell you more.

Gracias por visitar mi Blog… ¡AH! No se olvide de votar, reesteemear y comentar.

Thanks for visiting my blog... Ah! Don't forget to vote, reesteemear comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63004.58
ETH 2548.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81