STREET ART #65 – no limits to what an artist can use as a canvas (Kristiansand, Norway)

in GEMS4 years ago

The art scene in Kristiansand continues to surprise. New artworks are constantly emerging throughout the city. Not just large murals. Over the past few months I have discovered several painted power boxes. As far as I can see from the signature, there are several well known local artists behind this work.




Artist: Panther Street art



Artist: Vlekart


The first time I saw a painted power box was in Stavanger in 2014. The last 2-3 months I have found quite a few in Kristiansand. I don't know how new they are or when they have been painted. Some of them have might have been around for a couple of years. Others are quite new. I just haven't noticed them before. I quess I usually rush through the city with a clear goal of reaching my office. I keep my eyes more open now that I know I can be missing something!




These have been done by Sea Invaders. CoolArt (Ane B. Skjævesland and Sedin Zunic) is dedicated to protecting marine life and therefore started the voluntary organization Sea Invaders. The focus is on marine life and what can destroy it. They use the artwork to convey the message of the importance of protected marine life. The artworks shows life in the ocean. The diversity of marine life will disappear if we don't start to take actions.



Enerkonigs – the artist behind this paste up in the city center. There are many more murals aound town, done by this artist. A well known and active artist.




Aalborg (Denmark)



Stavanger (Norway)

It's been many years since I've been to Bergen, one of Norway's largest cities, but another street art enthusiasts and friend have told me about some of the projects. The city arranged a wheatpaste course for young people some time ago. Later they took their works of art and glued it to power boxes around the city. I have seen some decorated power boxes in both Stavanger and Aalborg (Denmark). Kristiansand is getting it's own selection and I am sure there are more than what I have managed to find.


Please do follow if you want to keep up with my next street art. Any upvotes or resteems are hugely appreciated!

Latest street art post, check out :
Singapore has it's share of colorful street art. w/Street art video


U.J

Kristiansand, Norway

All the photoes are mine, Ulla Jensen (flickr, Instagram and facebook)

[//]:# (!pinmapple 58.146806 lat 7.999357 long STREET ART #65 – no limits to what an artist can use as a canvas (Kristiansand, Norway) d3scr)


Read about us? // Main page!
Latest content: Travel, Art, Food, Article, Poetry

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61042.80
ETH 2605.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65