Music bits 002: Electronic music with latin sounds by SOTOMAYOR

in GEMS4 years ago

Electronic music plus Afro-Latin sounds and rhythms, explains the sound of Sotomayor in a reductionist way, but in reality they are much more than they seem at first glance.

imagen.png
Fuente

The first thing I heard from Sotomayor was 'Eléctrico', a song that caught my attention a lot, so I added it to one of my Spotify playlists and voila, but at that moment I did not inquire more about the band.

A few weeks ago while searching for new musical proposals, one of my favorite activities, I stumbled upon a live performance of them on KEXP Seattle Radio, one of the sites I visit the most and respect for the quality of projects they present in their live series.

It was then that I found out that they are Mexican, and the more I listened to them and the more I knew about them the more I was surprised. I share with you a first video so that you can begin to understand a little why I was surprised.

As you can see it is a proposal with strong influences to Afro-Latin sounds and rhythms, but very integrated in a contemporary package, without false pretenses and with a simplicity that draws attention.

Made up of Paulina and Raúl Sotomayor, two brothers residing in Mexico City, hence the name of the project, and accompanied by a friend from Raúl's university, playing bass, and a member of the Mexican band Liquits, in charge of keyboards, guitars and production, they have been on the music scene since 2015, and since their inception they managed to position themselves internationally.

Fuente: KEXP

With authenticity ahead, this pair of percussionist brothers have already released their third album "Orígenes", following the line of "Conquistador" and "Salvaje", their first productions, in which they continue to rescue sounds from traditional Latin American music and it mixes with electronic sounds, and influences from Sound Base and World Music, as well as more contemporary sounds like Hip-Hop, creating what Raúl calls "tropical technology".

I share the official video of one of the singles from this third production titled "Quema" in which this interesting mix of influences can be seen.

I hope you liked this review / musical recommendation. You can easily find Sotomayor's music on Itunes, Spotify and YouTube. Finally, I share three more songs from the band, two that they performed in live sessions for KEXP Radio, and the official video of the song with which I met them: "Eléctrico". Until next time.


©bonzopoe, 2020.

Sin-título-1.gif

Note 1: All rights correspond to the respective artists and authors of the materials presented and the rights to the videos belong to the filmmakers. The rights to the compositions belong to the editors of the works and the artists who interpret them. Its use in this post is only to exemplify the proposals of the reviewed artists.

Note 2: The cover image was created from the source indicated using Microsoft Powerpoint.

Sin-título-1.gif

Thank you very much for reading this post and dedicating a moment of your time. Until next time and remember to leave a comments.

Sort:  

I saw this band alive, indeed they are good musicians but their show it’s quite boring, they are used to artificial music I’m eager to see them alive see if they improved.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64266.94
ETH 3077.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87