MUST.... NOT.... PLAY.... Splinterlands!

in GEMS4 years ago

Unsplash

Wow... this is going to be a rough day! Let me get it out of the way, I LOVE Splinterlands. I have to say that it is the best current implementation of blockchain NFTs into a simple yet addictive card battler that is perfect for short games on mobile. Other games have done NFT implementations, but have either been bogged down by too much reliance on blockchains (and failing at transaction times and fees), missed the point of on-the-go gaming or have produced NFTs with a terrible game!

Anyway, as this season wraps up, I'm in a bit of a dilemma that I'm sure that most players of Splinterlands have faced at some point in their Splinterlands life. The idea that it is better to take a rest for a day, and not play our beloved game... avoid the daily quest like the alluring siren it is just to get those sweet sweet end of season rewards!

Screenshot_20200513211105.jpg

Yesterday, I had just crossed over into the Champion tier (the lowest rank... but still in!) for the first time in my Splinterlands life. I managed this through a streak of lucky wins which with the streak bonus netted me some hefty season point rewards! Enough to boost me about 30 points into the Champion tier.

However, I continued to pursue the Daily Quest (after all, I only had a single game to win to get the cards!)... and got quickly smacked down hard into the top Diamond tier. Ouch! Oh well, I thought that that was going to be the end of it!

This morning, I had a little bit of time to kill and I fired up the Splinterlands page and decided to try my hand at trying to get back in Champion tier. It was only about 100 points away, so it would have been possible if I was lucky and on a streak. Plus, I didn't have the mental nagging of trying to pursue a Daily Quest which often entices me to play teams that aren't best suited to the battle conditions.

To my absolute surprise, I managed to just tip into Champion again! WOW! To be perfectly honest, I wasn't really expecting it... but I started the morning with a win and then picked up a few streak wins and then before I knew it, I was in the money!

Screenshot_20200514085449.jpg

Which leaves me with a bit of a dilemma... there is only just a day left in the Season. Finishing in the top gold tier would net me 60 Loot chests, whilst Champion would get me 80 plus a nice little boost to my morale and some sweet personal Splinterlands kudos!

So, for the rest of the season... I'm going cold turkey on Splinterlands! Don't look... don't touch! If I got the Daily Quest, it would be a nice boost of cards... but the risk is pretty high that I would lose my Champion tier finish! Plus, the Daily Quest will carry over to the next day... so, it will still be there when the season is done and will still give me the following day's quest after I complete that one.

Sigh.... this is rough... as I write there is still a bit under 20 hours left on the season. This is even WORSE than waiting for the Bitcoin Halvening (Halving...)!

Splinterlands (aka the best blockchain game out there!)


Humble Bundle

Have you heard of Humble Bundle? It's a place to get some really great deals on Games, e-books and comic bundles. However, if you sign up for a Humble Bundle Subscription (12 USD per month) you get some really nice bonuses!

  1. A 100+ USD bundle of games delivered direct to you each month, redeemable on Steam, Uplay or direct download (depending on the game). This includes recent Triple A games!
  2. Access to the Humble Bundle "Trove", a list of 60 games (and growing...) which are free to play as long as you remain a subscriber!
  3. Additional Discounts on the Humble Bundle store, with the choice of supporting charities, Humble Bundle or developers in whatever percentage that you wish!

Humble Bundle Subscriptions, it's a no brainer for the dedicated gamer!


Upgoats by ryivhnn
Account banner by jimramones


The classical music community (Subscribe at Steempeak and Peakd) at #classical-music and Discord. Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio. Community Logo by ivan.atman

Sort:  

This post has been upvoted by @opgaming. We like what you're posting, and we want to reward our members who produce quality content. Keep up the good work!
If this sounds like the sort of group you want to be a part of, click the image below! We're too OP to be put down!

OPG_2.png

This post has been rewarded by the Steem Community Curation Project. #communitycuration04

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.34
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66361.53
ETH 3253.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.43