My local media. Always fun!

in GEMS4 years ago

f1aefc2efb7bddd8baa739c407f77f22.jpg
Source
Apart from using mobile phones, laptop to stay connected, and have fun, watching TV programs, or listening to FM or probably, reading newspaper is another good way to stay informed. A day will not pass without my dad listening to his favourite radio station for the local news at 5. I noticed several old men at the garrage/bus stop read various newspapers and argue over issues that won't fetch them a dime. Though, their gathering is always fun, they exchange blows at times when the spirit of Ronaldo and Messi take them on.

As I was growing up, I watched many TV channels, listen to many radio stations, but the news paper wasn't my thing because it took some decent years before I could read english fluently. I grew up liking many TV and Radio stations due to diverse programs they render, so it was difficult to have a favourite because there's often one or two programs I love from all those TV and Radio channels.

I began to pick interest in a particular station when I was in higher institution, and I was influenced to start reading news papers as well.

Unveiling my favourite Local stations

I was a graduate of the University of Ilorin, one of the best University in Nigeria. We hardly go on strike, which is one great advantage the school have over others in the country. I live a little far from the campus, but I had some friends living a stone throw from our lecture hall. I stay with them anytime I don't feel like going home, and my company with them marks my journey to having a favourite TV, Radio station, and newspaper.

From the scratch, I was never a fan of newspaper. I check news, and other things via my phone, but influence had it way on me.

My friends love watching a station called Wazobia Max. At first, I didn't pay attention because, where I'm staying, we are used to watching Aftican Magic, and I've become a fan, which make me see any other station as boring, but Ogbolor and his slim babe got my attention with their awesome program. They were the reason I gave my attention to watching Wazobia TV, and eventually became my favourite local TV station.

About Wazobia Max

wazobia-tv-logo.png
Sourc

This TV station started operating in 2014. It is located in Abuja far from where I schooled, and my base, but the frequency cut across. One thing I love about the station is the Pidgin English used as their official language, and that's what made it even more local. Nigerians love Pidgin English because of its uniqueness. Both learned and street guys can relate to the matter discussed with the local Naija pidgin.

In fact, that was one of the things that got my attention when I first watched Ogbolor (the guy in Jenifer's diary) and his babe in one funny program.

Wazobia max is a unique station that talks about the state of the nation, and the possible solution to address issues. They talk about what is happening within the locality with a great flair of belonging, and it's always cool to listen to them. Their local programs makes it more unique with their different funny presenter.

Check out the ogbonge show by ogbolor on wazobia max.


The dwarfs made my day


Most are big brother naija celebrity. Broda shagy, and kennybaq are naughty comedians.

They have many local shows presented in pidgin English that makes me laugh my ass out. I think I've not made the wrong choice having them as my favourite. I've been enjoying most of my time watching their programs since the Covid lock down. The station can be gotten on UHF 57,
Twitter, Facebook

Sound city FM 98.5 frequency

0c4d1132e395342419ed4aa203317a9e.jpg
Source
One of my hobbies is music. Right from time, I've been scolded by my parents especially my mum for the huge flair for music, but It's so unfortunate that I don't have a very good voice, but I can sing almost 90% of Naija hip-hop in vogue since 2010. Sound city gave me what I wanted. The entertainment hits have been the reason for my likeness. If you are within Lagos or anywhere close, try this link, you will be filled with lovely music.

Sound city is owned by Alphavision Multimedia, a subsidiary of the Consolidated Media Associates (CMA). It started operation on July 18, 2016. They are really powered by music according to their slogan, as 70% of the song they play is from local artists. I love listening to Sheye Banks's program "what's up Lagos", and the voice of Pearl Cardy, and
Moti Cakes of the No chill Zone. Website

My favourite newspapers

Complete sport newspaper

Pic Merger_728.png
Source

The first newspaper I started reading was Nigerian Tribune, but the first paper I bought with my money was complete sport. The love for sports made me choose complete sport over other newspapers.

Complete Sports was first publishedbin 1995. It is located in Isolo Lagos. It is a Nigerian daily national sports newspaper, which focuses primarily on Nigerian sports personalities. particularly Nigerian footballers. It talks a lot about local leagues and it also touch other European leagues too. Website
The herald newspaper, my best paper for news

1634c1f0c40385777d31694d4506e3d9.jpg

The paper started it's operation in the 90s, but I don't know precisely the date.
I spotted this paper when I was in the university of Ilorin. The Herald is a local newspaper located In GRA Ilorin. They basically write about news in the locality with a mix of other outside news, but 70% or more of local news is captured. When I was in 300 level, We had a group project where we needed to get some content from a local newspaper. We searched and sesrched, and eventually, The herald was the newspaper that rescued us. I still have that particular paper with me published on February 23 2017. See the image below

IMG_20200603_142839_984.jpg

IMG_20200603_142648_425.jpg
This is the page we used for the group work.

The herald news site
Facebook

Since I graduated, It's not bedn easy to get the newspaper because it is inclined to kwara State, and you hardly get it outside the state.
It's nice sharing my best media with you. Thank you for reading.

IMG_20200530_221023_443.jpg

Sort:  

Thank you for taking part in the latest 100 Days of Steem Challenge.

Keep following @steemitblog for new challenges every week.

The Steemit Team

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63811.50
ETH 2617.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77