Exploring texture for comics. The background. By Alejandra Her

in GEMS4 years ago (edited)

ya.png

People often recommend choosing a specific style, and developing it. But for those who are just starting out, like me, it is impossible to choose a style without first having tried a few textures.

I already begin to define my lines and proportions. However, I like to try something new in the backgrounds. At first, I used to paint with watercolors, it is a medium that I like both manual and digital. However, as I explore other possibilities, I discover textures that I like and that can help me express what I want.

This time, I painted the character with pastels texture, using a default pastel brush in photoshop. For the background, I used a damp comb brush, also predetermined.

I really wanted to make this effect of undefined things. I finally added a blur layer for the background.

I will continue exploring textures. Hope you like it


Versión en español

La gente suele recomendar escoger un estilo especifico, y desarrollarlo. Pero para quienes comenzamos apenas, como yo, es imposible escoger un estilo sin antes haber probado unas cuantas texturas.

Ya yo empiezo a definir mis lineas y proporciones. Sin embargo, me gusta probar con los fondos. Al principio hacía acuarelas, es un medio que me gusta tanto manual como digital. Sin embargo, a medida que exploro otras posibilidades voy descubriendo texturas que me agradan y que pueden ayudarme a expresar lo que quiero.

En esta ocasión, utilicé para mi personaje la textura de pasteles, usando un pincel de pastel predeterminado en photoshop. Para el fondo utilicé un pincel húmedo con forma de peine, también predeterminado.

Seguiré explorando texturas. Espero que les guste.


Sketch.

1.png


Base Color
2.png


Character details
3.png


Background base color
4.png


comic-mujer-de-rojo.png



If you like my work, visit my Instagram account

Sort:  

Your post was manualy reviewed and curated by Vitamin C curation group.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59705.02
ETH 2619.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39