Do you want me to draw WHAT?! Illustration + anecdote by Alejandra Her

in GEMS4 years ago

4.png

Do you want me to draw WHAT?

Having decided my style, it's time to start with small comics. So after a lot of exploring, I was finally left with what I basically did from the beginning, only the process is no longer manual but digital.

But I will explain the process later.

Sometimes we have to work with clients or people who are not very clear about what they want in terms of illustration or design. These clients abound! Asking too many things in a design is very common, our job as professionals is to guide the client to find an aesthetic that they like and offer them a harmonious composition. If we explain the client in detail, they will surely access our suggestions.

I am happy that the people for whom I have made illustrations and designs have always been satisfied.

However, sometimes the requests leave us out of orbit, a little lost.

So I made this comic about it. That's me, and it was my face once a client asked me for a half-page illustration, with approximately 16 people characters, full-body, explaining in detail the expressions of each one, where there were horses, frogs playing violin, crickets and butterflies, a rainbow and a colonial city behind, with aspects that are characteristic of the architecture of that city. Difficult, isn't it? However, it was a success, although I reduced the illustration to a horse, a guitar frog and a character. I will publish this illustration soon, after it is published in the magazine I made it for.

This is not the only odd experience. These abound: customers who ask for minimalist logos with lots of elements, people who ask you to do a lot of work in a very short time at an even lower cost. But the worst thing is when someone asks you if a drawing of a nude is a self-portrait.



Versión en español

Que quieres que te dibuje que?

Ya decidido mi estilo, es hora de empezar con pequeños cómics. Así que después de mucho explorar, finalmente me quedé con lo que hacía básicamente desde el principio, solo que ya el proceso no es manual sino digital.

Pero ya después les explicaré el proceso.

A veces nos topamos con clientes o personas que no tienen muy claro lo que quieren en materia de ilustración o diseño. Estos clientes abundan! Pedir demasiadas cosas en un diseño es algo muy común, nuestro trabajo como profesionales es guiar al cliente a que encuentre una estética que le guste y ofrecerle una composición armónica. Si le explicamos detalladamente al cliente, seguramente accederá a nuestras sugerencias.

Yo me siento feliz de que las personas a quien les he hecho ilustraciones y diseños siempre han quedado satisfechos.

Sin embargo, a veces las peticiones nos dejan fuera de órbita, un poco perdidos.

Así que hice este cómic respecto a eso. Esa soy yo, y fue mi cara una vez que un cliente me pidió una ilustración a media página, con 16 personajes aproximadamente, a cuerpo entero, explicándome detalladamente las expresiones de cada uno, donde habían caballos, ranas violinistas, grillos y mariposas, un arcoiris y una ciudad colonial atrás, con aspectos característicos de la arquitectura de esta ciudad. Difícil, ¿verdad? Sin embargo fue un éxito, aunque reduje la ilustración a un caballo, una rana guitarrista y un personaje. Pronto publicaré esta ilustración, después de que sea publicada en la revista para la que la hice.

Esta no es la única experiencia rara. De estas abundan: clientes que piden logos minimalistas con montones de elementos, gente que te pide que hagas mucho trabajo en un tiempo muy reducido a un costo mas reducido aun. Pero lo peor es que te pregunten si un dibujo de un desnudo es un autorretrato.

1.png

2.png

3.png

5.png

Now, I want to know your opinion. What do you think of my comic? Have you ever run into clients like that?


Ahora, quiero saber su opinión. ¿Qué les parece mi cómic? ¿Alguna vez se han topado con clientes así?


If you like my work, visit my Instagram account

banda.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been upvoted by @dsc-r2cornell, which is the curating account for @R2cornell's Discord Community.

Curated by @blessed-girl

r2cornell_curation_banner.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62062.59
ETH 3002.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77