Goauche Paints: What's Not To Love? 🧡❤️

in GEMS4 years ago

It's been quite sometime now that I have been using gouache very actively than last year and it has quickly taken up the spot for the most used medium this year for me. It has or at least is very close to putting watercolors at number 2. Which is surprising for me as I had thought there is nothin I will ever love more than watercolors. One of the most important reason which allured me to it was simply the freedom to use lots of thick paint and REALLY feel the colors. But I did summarise them to 3 main ones:

My 21st Birthday in Hawaii (1) copy.jpg


Let's connect on Instagram!

1. Rich & Beautiful Strokes:

The first thing that attracted me to gouache paints was watching other artists painting with it.the creamy texture was too pleasing for my eyes and I could just imagine how good it will be to actually do it. And of course my intuition was on point. The feel of the paint when it makes contact with my brush is more than enough to make me fall in love with it over and over again. The less-water-more-paint is something that is completely opposite to watercolors and it worked it's charm on me. I love how I can still go back and feel the paint and see the movement of brush strokes on my paintings.

3.1 strokes.png

2. Endless Reactivation:

This medium is a godsend when it comes to flexibility of use. It can be reactivated bazillions of times even after the paint (traditional gouache) dries off which also gives you a chance to fix any errors. Just a little bit of technique/ understanding is needed to know how it works and this feature can help you do wonders! I have mostly used it while painting clouds and portraits, where the overall working area is in constant development and keeps changing. The following painting is also an example of this where I enjoyed reactivation thoroughly.

3.2 reacti 3.jpeg

2. Your Choice Of Opacity:

Initially I had this idea in my head that gouache is mostly used to do opaque wonders. But it quickly surprised me with what it could do. It can also work like watercolors. For me it is like best of both worlds. I can achieve the subtlety of watercolors and their transparency or go wildly bold in the application. Which also allows room to work in layers, example the cupcake painting below. Their is a lot of difference in the way the paint is mixed and applied here.

2 opac.jpg

I could keep on blabbing about why I have come to love them so much but then I don’t want this to turn into a manuscript. But at the same time I would love to know from the artists here what mediums do you enjoy most and why?

Let me know what you guys think. I love to hear from you! 🧡


Keep Creating

Lots Of Love <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63466.84
ETH 2636.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76