100's Of Brush Strokes, But Each One Was Worth It! 💛🧡👩🏻‍🎨 (Hand-Painted)

in GEMS4 years ago (edited)

While doing a virtual dig in my hard drive today, I found this painting from almost 5 years ago. I didn’t even know I had a picture of it! However I thought of taking some better pictures of it and started looking for it. This was part of an assignment in the form a thick journal where we had studied the art movements to this era.

The task was to look for a movie poster of our choice and convert it in the style of one artist from any of the movements. Without almost any thought I immediately knew I wanted to paint something in classic “Van Gogh” style. And if by now you haven’t guessed it already, it was recreated in the Post Impressionistic style of “The Starry Night”.

I don’t think there is a soul who doesn’t like that particular masterpiece and I had always felt drawn to it.

It seemed to be that to be able to lay down thick strokes of paint required a lot of confidence in an artist. On top of that the surrealistic feel is enough to lure you in. Hence, the poster for “The Nightmare Before Christmas” felt like a perfect fit for it. Because of a similar dreamy night scene. I didn’t know anything about gouache back then so I choose to paint this with poster color! (I know, what an idiot move)

Initially it felt like I took on something which was out of my abilities, but I still kept going. And I am so glad I did! To this day I absolutely love it because I took inspiration from something which I had always been a huge admirer of. Sadly, I think I might have lost the entire journal now because I looked for it for hours today and still couldn’t find it ( yes, I am dying inside :/ )

Anyway, I am happy that I was able to share it here! Hope you guys are staying healthy and safe! Love. 🧡

D7CCFE522FD44D7C9B4C28E23855636B.JPG

1.jpeg

2.jpg

3.jpg

4.jpg

5.jpg

6'.jpg


Keep Creating

Lots Of Love <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64512.68
ETH 2615.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82