SEC WK2 : The language in my country

in Steem4Nigeria8 months ago

20240123_094720_0000.png

What is the name of your country? How many languages can be found in your country?

The name of my country is Nigeria. Nigeria is a West African country with diverse ethnic groups, cultures and languages. English is the country's official language which is because we were colonized by the British. The country which sits on a 923,768 km2 (356,669 sq mi) on the Gulf of Guinea is the 32nd-largest country in the world. This landmass houses over 500 ethnic groups and each of them have their own distinct language.
Some popular Nigerian languages include:

LanguagesEthnic groups
1. HausaSpoken by the Hausa people, mainly in the northern part of Nigeria.
2. YorubaSpoken by the Yoruba people, primarily in the southwestern region.
3. IgboThe Igbo language is spoken by the Igbo people, primarily in the southeastern part of Nigeria.
4. FulfuldeSpoken by the Fulani people, mainly in the northern regions.
5. EdoSpoken by the Edo people in the southern part of Nigeria, particularly in Edo State.
6. IbibioSpoken by the Ibibio people in Akwa Ibom State.
7. KanuriPrimarily spoken in the northeastern part of Nigeria.
8. TivSpoken by the Tiv people in Benue State and other parts of the Middle Belt region.
9. NupeSpoken by the Nupe people, mainly in Niger State.
10. IjawSpoken by the Ijaw people in the Niger Delta region.
11.Pidgin EnglishSpoken by majority of Nigerians, it is an street form of English language and not peculiar to any tribe.

" Source

The above listed is just a very tiny amount compared to the original number, there are many more languages which is spoken in the country by other tribes. But English and pidgin is the uniting that language that enables communication across different ethnicities.
.

Among the listed languages in your country, how many are you familiar with?

I can speak Efik/Ibibio fluently and can also speak English and pidgin English. I am from Akwa Ibok state, essien udim l.g.a to be precise. That makes me an Anaang man by birth. We speak Anaang which is similar to the Ibibio language.

How has this language improved/helped your life and business?
| |---- The language has helped my life in many ways, since English is the official language, I am able to relate with people, acquire education and transact daily with the English language. My native language helps me feel connected to my roots. If I am in a strange land my native language can connect me to my people who are also there. The pidgin English helps me relate with my friends and youths who prefer to speak it.

FB_IMG_1678982865446.jpg
With people I communicate in pidgin

Are you willing to teach your children these languages? Yes/No. State your reason

Yes, with my full chest. My children will know their native language first then either Yoruba or Hausa because those are the top tribes in the country with more population. Although there are at liberty to choose the one they want but I believe English and their native language is a must.
FB_IMG_1678981363386.jpg

Thank you for taking time to read my post, I'm sure you received value. Do well to follow for more superb contents.
I cordially invite my friends @ekemini01, @bossj23 and @comfortpeter to participate in this engagement challenge S15 W2.

25% to @null

Sort:  

Yes!
There are many languages spoken in Nigeria.
And it's just a fraction that you've mentioned.
Learning many languages helps to enable socialization through effective communication and creates a connection between two or more people.
You've written well my friend.

 8 months ago 

Thank you very much for you kind comment @us-andrew. What I mentioned was just a fraction as you rightly stated. What surprises me is that Wikipedia says there are over 525 more languages. Can you even imagine that. Terrific

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

 8 months ago 

your post is very good I like the way you write and the way you arrange your words It seems like you are a student and I have read your post there are some languages ​​that I like from the Country.

Talking about language, all countries have many languages, but everyone will use their regional language, for example, like me, I live from Indonesia, I use Acehnese because I live in Aceh Darussalam Province, that's why I use Acehnese every day. Thank you for participating in this contest. Best wishes. for you

Loading...

As someone who is staying in the southern part of cross river State Efik/Ibibio, is the language am still finding difficult to learn. I am happy that you know how to speak it fluently. Success to you.

 8 months ago 

Hello @jasminemary, thank you for your comment. Are you from the south South? You said you could understand 7 languages in your post. I believe if you engage with friends from that area then you would learn fast. You could also listen to their songs and movies. 🥂 Cheers

Upvoted. Thank You for sending some of your rewards to @null. It will make Steem stronger.

 8 months ago 

Yes my friend @zekanem
Our various native languages are important parts of who we are. It's the language we grew up speaking, the language of our families and friends, and the language of our culture. It's a part of our identity, and it's something that connects us to our roots. Even if I learn other languages, my native language will always be special to me.I enjoyed reading your post @zekanem. THUMBS UP!!👍🏼

 8 months ago 

This is getting quite interesting. Your explanation and detailed presentation of languages in Nigeria amazes me. It's also interesting to know you're an annaang man. I've always loved when the speak their language. Seems you'll be my teacher. Wishing you best of luck in this challenge

 8 months ago 

Agwo annaang ado agwo uko ahjeneka. Mfuna ibaha I go teach the language my boss. Just pay 1k steem 😏. I know I'm not charging much and that's because you're my boss ooo. On a norms I suppose charge higher. You know my aza already 🤗

 8 months ago 

😂.... I'll let you know when I'm ready Boss.

 8 months ago 

Hello @zekanem, my Anaang brother. This is a beautiful and detailed presentation of the languages in Nigeria.

As a Nigerian my self, I felt extremely proud reading this piece. To think I forgot about our dearest pidgin. The language spoken by every trip, gender, age and class in Nigeria. Even English falls behind to it 😅

All the best friend on this Contest.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61733.68
ETH 2481.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63