Steem4nigeria Accelerator Contest Week 29: Happy New Year!

in Steem4Nigeria5 months ago

Hippee it's the first day of the year 2024 as we start a new calendar year. I'm so happy you my reader and I have been able to live it through 2023. It wasn't a smooth ride, 2023 had it's ups and downs but in all we stood firm and look at us today Say to yourself I did it.

20240101_101704_0000.jpg
Made with Canva

What are your favourite New Year traditions or customs?

My favourite New year traditions is the crossover night service. This is mostly celebrated by Christians who go to their church on New year's Eve and pray to God, thanking him for the previous and committing the new year into his hands as the believe Him to be the alpha and Omega. The beginning and the end.
Then once it is 12am sharp there'll be shouts of frenzy as everyone echoes Happy New Year.

Another tradition is that in our family, we always travel together to the village this time. This tradition enables long distance members of the family to come together and connect after a long time apart. It helps cousins that have never seen each other to meet for the first time. And the highlights is the food because everyone will be cooking a lot. You'll eat here, there and everywhere, I for myself just go for the meat because I love meat very much.

Then the last tradition I usually observe is the New year Service where we gather in church to pray and ask God for what we want in the new year.

Do you have any special resolutions or goals for the upcoming year?

Right now I do not have any special resolutions, I am not actually a fan of it. But my goal for this year is to become a Dolphin on steemit. This will be achieved by working hard here and by also investing in the steemit ecosystem.
Another goal I have is my academics, I want to get admission into a particular course and I am working hard towards achieving this goal.
Other goals are there too but the above listed tops the chart.

How do you celebrate New Year's Eve? Any unique or memorable experiences to share?

This year I celebrated New Year's Eve in another state, I could not afford to travel home and join my families in the celebration. I was sti able to connect with them via zoom calls. On the night before the new year I went outside and got myself noodles, suya and my favourite drink, Coca-Cola.
I also attended crossover service. Unfortunately, I did not celebrate with fireworks because of the dangers associated with it.
But in all I was happy, it's been a tough 2023 and I am delighted to make it into 2024

IMG_20231229_190828_983.jpg

How do you feel about the concept of "New Year, New Me"? Is it something you embrace or find overrated?

I feel it is overhyped, I don't do that. Most people just shout it, others observe it for the first few weeks and thereafter they're back to factory settings.
For new year new me to be actualized the person must take conscious and practical steps to achieve the goal. It shouldn't just be empty words.

What do you wish for yourself and others in the coming year?

My wish for myself is that 2024 should favour me and my family. I wish that I am able to achieve my goals and more.
And for others I wish them what they wish themselves, I wish that their own wish for 2024 will come to pass because we are different people with different desires.

IMG_20231228_114127_246.jpg
Last pics of 2023

Thank you my readers for your time, it means alot to me. Lets do more this year.
I invite @ekemini01, @comfortpeter and @bossj23 to participate in this contest.
Steem on

Sort:  

Thank you @zekanem for publishing this article in the Steem4nigeria community. We have assessed your entry and we present the result of our assessment below.

CriteriaRemark
Verified User
#steemexclusive
Plagiarism Free
AI Free
Bot Free
#burnsteem25
#clubClub 75
Voting CSI
12.2
Review DateMon 01 Jan. 2024

MODs Comment/Recommendation:

My wish for myself is that 2024 should favour me and my family. I wish that I am able to achieve my goals and more.
And for others I wish them what they wish themselves, I wish that their own wish for 2024 will come to pass because we are different people with different desires.

Let's wish that their good wishes may come true. We will love to read more from you. Keep making good quality posts in the Steem4nigeria community And Please remember to always share your post on Twitter and endeavor to join the #Nigeria-trail for more robust support in the community. Click the link Nigeria-trail to join. And if you have difficulties joining, you have a guide to join which can be of help

photostudio_1704096550853.jpg

Congratulations!

This publication has been supported through the Steemcurator06 account for containing good quality content.


Curated by: @karianaporras

 5 months ago 

Thank you for your service @karianaporras. I am grateful.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67666.95
ETH 3775.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55