My Neighborhood Watch #41 - Reporting Events Around us(Video)

in Steem4Nigeria4 months ago

Hello Steemians it is an honour to be participating again for the second time in this contest which gives us an opportunity to report events happening in our neighbourhood.

The event I am about to report happened yesterday in my area, Odim community in Nsukka, Enugu State, Nigeria.
At about 2pm while I was outside searching for where to charge my phone, I heard and saw people running after someone. As a careful person what I did was to first of all take cover and not rush to join the bandwagon.

After making sure all was safe I went to check what happened and I was told that a thief was being chased by the students and youths in the community. He had allegedly stolen something.

I went back to grab my phone so I can capture this event as it unfolds.
The thief was caught and dragged to the village square. He received what we call in Nigeria "premium beatings". Beatings that you don't know the direction it is coming from and can't defend.

IMG_20240324_125801_8.jpg

While this one was collecting his beatings, his partner was also caught and brought to the same place. I went to capture this one too, he was beaten badly because he had tried to escape after being caught. I could see saliva and blood drooling from his mouth. The most shocking part was when I saw him packing sand to swallow like it was food.
I am still in awe as to why he did that, some say it was juju for him to escape but that is just myth.
IMG_20240324_130257_023.jpg

IMG_20240324_130238_161.jpg

They kept them side by side and questioned them, it was at this moment they brought the items they had stolen and it turned out to be a lightning protector and copper wire. These items cost some huge amount in the black market.

IMG_20240324_130517_916.jpg

As they were being interviewed some people started asking that fuel and tire be brought so that they can be set ablaze. It was at this point I knew things were getting out of control for real.

I am an advocate for justice and I stand against jungle justice. Everyone deserves the right to fair hearing. And to be tried by a court of competent jurisdiction under the federal laws of the country.

Most of the people advocating for this inhumane act pointed to previous times they were robbed of their valuables even though this was done by an entirely different set of robbers.

I immediately brought out my phone and called 911 emergency line, luckily they picked up and promised me to come to the rescue. I was so shocked that our security system were this active. An officer called me with another number to get directions and when they finally came and took the thieves away, the PRO called me to congratulate me for a great job.

To understand more I request that you watch the video below

I am a patriotic Nigerian and I believe in my country.

That is it for the report that happened yesterday. Major thanks to @xkool24 for organiythis wonderful contest.
I invite @pandora2010, @goodybest and @suboohi to participate in this contest.

Use the following tags #neighborhoodwatch41,

Posted using SteemPro Mobile

Sort:  
Loading...

TEAM 2

Congratulations! This post has been voted through steemcurator05. We support quality posts, good comments anywhere and any tags.

Team 2.jpeg

Curated by : @eliany

 4 months ago 

Thank you for the support @eliany. I appreciate.

Posted using SteemPro Mobile

 4 months ago 

Hi handsome
Thanks for sharing your experience on event that happen around your neighborhood, omo, they should have mercy on them,I can suggest that their attitude was caused by hunger,you people really handle them like the theif they are.
Best regards dear.

 3 months ago 

Nigerians and jungle justice. It's important to remember that each situation is unique, and it's not fair to generalize and take out frustrations on others. Although the act in itself is condemned, people should learn to trust the system to serve justice.

I'm glad to hear that you took quick action by calling the emergency line, 911. It's amazing that the security system can respond swiftly. It must have been a huge relief when they picked up and promised to come to the rescue.

When the officers arrived and took the thieves away, it must have been such a relief to see justice being served. It's great that the PRO (Public Relations Officer) even reached out to congratulate you for your quick thinking and taking the initiative to report the crime. It's important to support each other and work together to maintain safety and security in our communities.

I hope that this experience has brought a sense of reassurance and that you feel safer knowing that there are systems in place to protect you. Stay vigilant and remember that reporting crimes can make a difference.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58613.96
ETH 3153.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43