My Neighborhood Watch #40 - Reporting Events Around us

in Steem4Nigeria4 months ago

Hello my people it is my outmost pleasure to be participating for the first time in this activity by steem for Nigeria community. I understand the contest is about sharing events and happenings in our neighbourhood, I will be sharing mine today.

I woke up today and came online on steemit, I was going through @disconnect post to check for contest that I could participate in. I came across an engagement challenge that required children engaging in extra curricular activities. I decided to go outside and snap some pictures of school children, just then I saw this contest and felt like okay, I could kill two birds with one stone.

Stepping out I saw a school pupil walking aimlessly about by 9am. I wondered why he was loitering about when he was supposed to be in class.

IMG_20240319_095112_969.jpg

Next I saw a guy going to fetch water at a compound but there was no one around to sell for him and he had to go back with an empty wheelbarrow. In Enugu the ground is very hard which makes it hard for most people to dig borehole, oh the rich and privileged gets to have such luxury. This is in contrast to my state where digging a borehole is very affordable due to the soft ground.
Here in Enugu water is sold for ₦30-60 per rubber. It is very expensive.

IMG_20240319_095044_487.jpg

Still on my way I came across a shop where someone was complaining about the price of things that have gone up. According to him he came to buy the same thing yesterday at ₦150 and today it is now ₦200. The seller told him that the price had gone up and there nothing she could do.
I can understand the plight of the guy who is likely a student, things are not easy at all in this our economy.
These bikemen you see here charge as high as 700 for a ride that is not upto 5minutes. This kind of thing makes me miss my own state. Because this is a student environment everyone wants to rip students of their money by charging exorbitantly.


IMG_20240319_095359_409.jpg

IMG_20240319_095404_087.jpg


I proceeded on my way and saw this charging center where people charge phone. The place was literally empty because there was power supply in the area. This made me wonder, is this man not always praying for power outage so he can make money charging phones at the rate of ₦200 for students?
IMG_20240319_095511_653.jpg

I finally reached the school and took the picture I needed to take about the students playing.

IMG_20240319_095847_729.jpg

On my way back home I saw this new business centre that is about to open. They have painted the outside and made it very colourful. It looks like it is going to be a game centre where you play video games like PlayStation 5. I felt bad because I wanted opening a similar business (not that I had the money, just an idea). Well I am also happy because I will be able to charge my phone here whenever power is unavailable in the area. I wish the owner well.

IMG_20240319_095937_074.jpg

Finally the last event I capture was that of this children playing a dangerous game of following a truck behind. The truck suddenly stopped and one of them collided with it. I am glad no serious injuries was sustained. People around shouted at them to stop playing such an expensive play.

IMG_20240319_160858_166.jpg

That brings to an end all that happened in my area today. I invite my friends @pandora2010, @goodybest and @suboohi to comment on my post and participate in this contest.

All pictures were taken on my phone's camera. Device name is Tecno Spark 9T.

Sort:  
 3 months ago 

reflects a deep sense of community awareness. The images you've shared not only complement your narrative but also bring us closer to the realities faced by your neighbors. From the economic hardships signified by the rising costs of basic commodities and water scarcity to the lighter moments of children playing, your post paints a comprehensive picture of resilience amidst challenges. It's these stories that remind us of the strength found in communities and the importance of looking out for one another. Keep sharing, as your stories not only inform but also connect us on a human level. Looking forward to seeing more amazing content from you

 3 months ago 

Your neighborhood watch is rich. Capturing scenes in your neighborhood is worth it. I didn't actually know you went to Enugu state . Life is bad everywhere like my mom will always say. At least one or two things must go wrong. Looking forward to reading more of your posts.

 3 months ago 

I am grateful to God for life. Thank you for your comment

Loading...
 3 months ago 

Thank you for sharing your neighborhood observations and experiences. It's insightful to learn about the various events and challenges faced by people in your community. Your photos provide a vivid picture of daily life, from students engaging in extracurricular activities to economic struggles and new business ventures. It's important to raise awareness about issues like the high cost of water and transportation, as well as safety concerns for children playing near trucks. Your participation in this contest adds valuable insight into the realities of life in your neighborhood.

 3 months ago 

Thank you my darling for your comment.

Your debut entry in the Steem for Nigeria community's neighborhood watch challenge is both enlightening and heartwarming. Your journey through the neighborhood, capturing the simplicity and complexities of daily life, reflects a deep sense of community awareness. The images you've shared not only complement your narrative but also bring us closer to the realities faced by your neighbors. From the economic hardships signified by the rising costs of basic commodities and water scarcity to the lighter moments of children playing, your post paints a comprehensive picture of resilience amidst challenges. It's these stories that remind us of the strength found in communities and the importance of looking out for one another. Keep sharing, as your stories not only inform but also connect us on a human level. Looking forward to seeing more amazing content from you 🤭

 3 months ago 

You are right my dear, thank you for your kind comments. I appreciate

Your post effectively captures the daily happenings and challenges within your neighborhood. It's commendable how you observed and documented various aspects of community life, from the struggles with water scarcity and rising prices to the lighter moments of children playing and new business ventures. Your narrative provides valuable insight into the realities faced by people in your area, fostering a sense of empathy and understanding among readers. Keep up the great work of sharing your experiences, Looking forward to more of your insightful posts!

 3 months ago 

Thank you very much dear for your comment and support. I am grateful

 3 months ago 

Hell, you really had a nice and great day,your post is quite amazing and insteresting.
Is good to work around and see thing happening around us, due is really stressful

 3 months ago 

reflects a deep sense of community awareness. The images you've shared not only complement your narrative but also bring us closer to the realities faced by your neighbors. From the economic hardships signified by the rising costs of basic commodities and water scarcity to the lighter moments of children playing, your post paints a comprehensive picture of resilience amidst challenges. It's these stories that remind us of the strength found in communities and the importance of looking out for one another. Keep sharing, as your stories not only inform but also connect us on a human level. Looking forward to seeing more amazing content from you .
Best regards dear.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58097.54
ETH 3176.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28