The Diary Game// 03-04-2024/My Experience at Sekona Market for the first time and getting sick

in Steem4Nigeria2 months ago

Morning

Wednesday started off with a good and calm weather. For couple of days now, we sleep and wake up to the rain. So, it comes as a surprise that everywhere is cool without the showers of rain hitting our roofs.

IMG_20240403_140545_880.jpgmy tired face

After going through my morning routine of morning prayers and meditations for few minutes, I left to take my bathe to prepare for work.

It is true that nothing much is happening in school but we still have to come to sign in our attendance until the school is closed for the session as it it used to track the attendance and performance of staff for payment of salary.

To pass away time, we former a mini football team, some of the male teachers and male students pitcher against themselves while the remaining staff stood in as supporters and audience. The male staff won at a 3-2 scores.

Afternoon

While coming back, I took my colleague to a salon where they could have a hairdo. Going to market happens every 5 days, so one has to be vigilant for each market day within the village.

IMG_20240403_144055_027.jpg

IMG_20240403_140521_150.jpg

Fortunately for me, when I asked one of the neighbors who sells food stuff if she knew when the next market day would hold which she responded that it that day. So, I quickly prepared to follow her to the market since I've not been to the market before and would find it especially as a Corper and non-indigene.

IMG_20240403_141754_453.jpg

IMG_20240403_142602_097.jpg

IMG_20240403_143959_019.jpg

IMG_20240403_142418_720.jpg

We first stopped at a rice shop where various rice both local and foreign was displayed. The foreign were clean without stone while some on the local rice had lots of stone and chaff. I bought both the local and foreign rice.

Next stop was to buy beans and garri (fermented cassava). We encountered few challenges,

  • There was a huge increase in the prices. Garri we buy at #800, is now #1200.
  • the garri is not dry enough and won't be good for eating.
  • The measuring bowl which traders used was small. We couldn't buy because it is a means for them to cheat you while gathering all the profit to themselves.

IMG_20240403_171305_845.jpg

IMG_20240403_144243_192.jpgFresh mangoes

Finally, we settled on one who figured was better than the others. Thank God I went with an experienced trader who knew her way round the market, or I would have bought bad products.

ItemsPrices
RiceN10,000
BeansN2000
GarriN2200
EggsN1400
EgusiN1200
Other ItemsN6000
TransportN1300
TotalN23, 000

Evening

I hopped on a call with my client in the evening, we had to work on the strategy he was using on Instagram, I pointed out what was working, and not working. How he can generate better engagement and generate leads from his target audience. My client was happy at the outcome of the meeting and expressed his gratitude.

Sort:  
 2 months ago 

Your twitter share has not been shared properly. Use the hastag #steem #steemit and $steem. Thank you!

Upvoted. Thank You for sending some of your rewards to @null. It will make Steem stronger.

Loading...

Great diary piece put together
Btw, the heading sounds like you are serving in Osun State.

Yes, I am. I'm serving in Edunabon.

Awesome! I reside in Osogbo (the state capital) and have always used the Sekona/Edun Abon road when travelling to Ile-ife or Ibadan. That's the reason the name on your title caught my attention. So, how is the service going?

Wowww, small world.

Service is going well Sir. Thank God service brought me to this side of Nigeria to see a different culture and language. It's being amazing.

Really a small world. I'm glad you are enjoying a great service year in the state.

I was once a Youth Corp here in the state.

 2 months ago 

Same here also. Our market day over here is 5 days interval. In fact i can see that the market is somehow big. Hope things are not cost over there

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66139.00
ETH 3537.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.16