The Present Confusion in My Country's Polity

in Steem4Nigeria2 years ago (edited)

20230221_102844_0000.png

Nigeria, having been a country that never seems to get any better has further deteriorated in the past 8 years. She has gotten to a level that seems impossible to reverse, but we hold onto the little hope shining through every day.

My understanding of the current situation

The last couple of weeks has brought untold hardship to the masses with the introduction of the new naira policy. The experience has been nothing short of hellish for everyone.

I heard someone say, the poor are cueing up in the bank, while the rich are cueing up in the filling stations. Some people will cue up both in the bank and the filling stations.

Increased prices of goodstuffs, yet you cannot see any money buy them.

Everybody is affected. You will see both old men and women standing in the cue to withdraw #2,000. Pregnant women and mothers looking for ways to provide food for their kids, the kids innocent in their requests, unaware of how things currently in the country. Sick people are unable to buy drugs because there is no money to pay for them.

The resultant effects of these issues in your area

IMG_20230214_100324.jpg
Me in the bank this morning-21/02/23

I had made plans to travel to school on the 7th of February, before embarking, my friend had called, informing me to make sure I withdrew the cash that I wanted to use because the ATMs in school were not working, and neither are the POS agents working too. He informed me that it has been hard for them, with no money in the school, the only way they make transactions is by transfer for people that will accept. With that, I went to withdraw at least 30k but unfortunately, I was told they could only give me 10k from the counter, then I could withdraw 20k from the ATM, which was impossible. The Atm crowd was something else, As of then, I didn't know if you come, first, you will go and pick a number. When I finally went to get a number, it was 517. I waited till 5 pm, and still no hope for us. I had to go back with the 10k given to me in the bank.

On the 9th of February, I went back to withdraw another cash. I left very early by 6 am, I was able to withdraw only #5k which I gave to my Mom who wasn't successful in withdrawing from her bank.

On the 18th of February, my Mom pleaded that I find where to withdraw some money to buy some foodstuffs, but the money situation has gotten worse. Only two banks were paying in Umuahia; UBA and FirstBank, and their crowd was out of the world. I was glad that at least, First Bank was paying, which had a lesser crowd as compared to UBA. A staff came out and announced to us that we can only withdraw #2,000. We weren't happy about the news but what can we do, it is appalling that after you have waited for the whole day, only 2000 is what you can withdraw. They started paying by 9 am and stopped by 3 pm before it could get to me. An old woman even fainted while waiting for her turn to withdraw. At this point, I was beyond frustrated almost on the verge of tears because there was no cash on me to even go home and the distance is far. I went in search of where I could withdraw any amount to find a way and get back home but was unable to find any. I had to trek the way back home, where I found a POS agent to withdraw #10,000 for #4,000. We have gotten to the stage where we have money but can't use it or have to buy our own money.

IMG_20230214_100248.jpg

IMG_20230214_092956.jpg

Was this polity politically motivated due to the upcoming elections or targeted at anyone?

While listening to the news, the president assured the citizens that it was not targeted at anyone but to help curb corruption, kidnapping and embezzlements of funds. I can admit to an extent that his plans are valid but it's disadvantages rank high.

  • Most people can't travel to their various hometowns to cast their votes because of lack of funds.
  • If there is an emergency that requires lots of funds, you won't be able to access that kind of money right now.

A better solution to these issues and possible ways to help alleviate the sufferings observed around me

February 25th is a day that can't come any faster. A day of answered prayers or failed prayers, that all depends on the massive efforts of Her people.

  • Simply, the old currencies should be used for transactions until the new naira has circulated fully across all 36 states in Nigeria.

  • The masses should get ready to vote their candidate into power. Prayers can never erase bad rulers.

Conclusion

How did things get so bad?

This period has made some people lose faith in a better Nigeria but I still hold onto the hope that tomorrow will be better than yesterday.

It all lies in how far we are willing to go to find that change, for a new NIGERIA.

What has your experience being like? Let me know in the comment section.

#steem4nigeria-c001 #nigeria #steemexclusive #club100 #burnsteem25

Sort:  
 2 years ago 

Only God can helps us in this country, you have your own money in the bank but to withdraw it is a big problem. Many youth have now become angry in my state they have continue to cause violence in some part of the state. Go get your PVC and let vote bad governance from the system.

It is not funny at all, I can't wait for 25th to cast my vote.

 2 years ago 

Your vote is your power, vote wisely see you on Saturday

Loading...

¡Congratulations! This post has been upvoted through -steemcurator06.
We support quality posts, and good comments anywhere, with any tags.

January (1).png
Curated by :@goodybest

Thank you @goodybest

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 60973.26
ETH 2366.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58