Contest: "My way of self-love

in Steem4Nigeria2 years ago

The period we see ourselves now is a time to appreciate what we have no matter how little it is because many people do not have and we ought to love ourselves while being grateful. I want yo apprecaite @josepha for hosting this topic to help us reflect on how we take care of ourselves.

1676244974994.jpgImage Source

When was the last time you really went out and enjoyed yourself? And what did you do?

I went out yesterday, Saturday. Before that, I haven't gone out for a long time, a friend of mine came into town for an event, and afterward, we went out.
What most people don't understand is that taking care of yourself does not only mean when you go to a restaurant, spend money, or things like that. Self-love is so much more than that.

Nowadays, I show myself, love, by celebrating my little wins. How do I celebrate my small wins? If I cannot go out, I buy some goodies like well-prepared snacks and drinks. This I will calmly eat at home. I show myself self by changing the kind of thoughts I think about myself, and by taking care of my health, my skin, and my body.

Do you think it is money or your work that is stopping you from having self-love?

At first, I was restrained by money but when I even got the money, there was no time again to take myself out. Aside from that, I used to think that I am not worthy of enjoying myself. I used to let the kinds of stuff happening in society keep me from fully appreciating the good things that I have.

You need self-love because it helps you set boundaries per your values, interests, goals, and visions. It gives you a reason to be proud of your achievements.

What do you understand by the word "self-love"?

1676244409446.jpgImage Source

Many things are constantly happening that make you feel unloved but look, you must learn to love yourself, nobody can do that for you. You must learn to love yourself the way you want people to love you.

Does it matter? You may ask. Yes, it does.

Self-love is when you learn to treat yourself with kindness, respect, and confidence. Self-love determines how you think. It encompasses the path your thought takes and how you feel and treat yourself.

Self-Love is when you let in positive rejecting negative thoughts about yourself, your career, and your relationships.

Self-love is letting go of toxic people who are only interested in bringing you down, criticizing your every effort, and never in support of your growth.

Between your own needs and those of your loved ones, which do you consider first, regardless of how serious their needs may be?

It is good to help people but at some point, you have to draw an invisible line between what you do for others. We live to help others but sometimes, you just have to be selfish. You have to be selfish for the things you want because if you keep trying to satisfy others, you will end up not living for yourself. If I am not able to help my loved ones and it is in my power, I would find someone who can help them, it must not be me. This way, everyone is satisfied.

How often do you show love to people around you or your friends?

I constantly show people around me love. Love is not only done when they are extravagant, the little things done every day defines love. I show love by doing the following:

  • Helping my siblings do some chores for them.
  • Helping my parents by cleaning their room and washing some of their stuff.
  • By buying my nephews and nieces goodies.
  • By helping my little ones with their assignments.
  • By being present in the important events of my family members.
  • By praising them for the good things they do. When people are praised, it lifts their souls and pushed them to do more.

1676245608908.jpgImage Source

Like Nigerians would say, "na pesin wey dey alive dey enjoy (It is someone alive that would enjoy the fruits of his labors).
Whatever you are doing, make out time to have some rest, refresh yourself, and come back stronger.

#self-love #creativewriting #steemexclusive #nigeria #club100

Sort:  
Loading...

Your post has been supported by @josepha from team 2 of the Community Curation Program, at 50%. We invite you to continue sharing quality content on the platform, and continue to enjoy support, and also a likely spot in our weekly top 7.
Voting date:

15/02/2023


image.png

Thank you for your support

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61438.76
ETH 2384.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58