THE DIARY GAME: MY FEW DAYS OF STRIKE PERIOD//BY @young-ancient

in Steem4Nigeria3 years ago

INTRODUCTION

IMG_20210312_104957_4.jpg

Good day Steemians. I remain @young~ancient and I welcome you all to my blog. This is my first diary post @steem4nigeria and It's a great pleasure sharing memories with you all here. Today I would like to share about my few days into the strike period.

It's longer news that the educational system/sector of our beloved country, Nigeria is poorly funded. Students/pupils at all levels of education lack quality educational facilities like good and conducive classrooms, standard books or learning materials, and so on.

One of the most appalling aspect is the poor working conditions of teachers, lecturers and professors. Due to all these issues, the Academic Staff Union of Universities(ASUU) declared and has embarked on an indefinite strike till their terms and conditions embedded in the 2009 agreement are wholly fulfilled by the Federal Government of Nigeria.

All students who attend federal and state and even some private universities are on strike. This strike is one of the most anticipated strikes ever in BSU campus due to the congestion of school activities from last year till date.This is because the school management is trying to meet up with the school calendar of 2022 academic session, since all schools worldwide was delayed by the advent of covid-19.

Our semesters in school since the beginning of last year only lasts for 3 - 4 months with intensive teaching and assessments but with this strike, all Bsu students will relax a little before we start missing school again(Including myself) 😄.

MY FEW DAYS

At BSU campus, the Nationwide strike was declared on Wednesday,16th February,2022. That very day, @joycelawz and I were reading in 400Level class in order to prepare for our next paper for assessment the next day. We were reading but still hoping for strike so that we could go home.

Immediately we heard the strike news around 2 pm, We jubilated just like other students, we were so filled with joy that we went to labour market to enjoy a good meal at MEAL - PLUS Restaurant. We ordered for jollof and coloured rice(so called fried rice from market women), beans,and salad.

IMG_20220204_144100_528.jpg

IMG_20220204_144011_957.jpg

After eating our meal, we paid and left the campus to our various homes. That was how I ended the strike-declared day.

The next day, Thursday, I woke up around 10 am. I ate my breakfast then I started with my house daughter chores. I swept, cleaned and arranged the house. Later, I washed my room and bathroom too. At about 2 pm when I finished bathing, I went to the kitchen to prepare afternoon food. I was done around 4:30 pm and I served. Sooner than expected, night came and I slept peacefully.

Same happened on Friday and Saturday. Within these few days, I stay indoors, sleeping mostly to relax and eat too. Many (especially @joycelawz) say that I have lost my normal weight/size so I'm trying to regain my weight too by sleeping, relaxing and steeming too🤭.

IMG_20220220_123920_1.jpg

Yes steeming 😏, I haven't been really active because school stress, home and my mum's sudden illness (still hospitalized). But with this break period, I will be able to rest, sleep, read better and be actively active on #steemit.

CONCLUSION

I'm happy to be a member of @steem4Nigeria community. I got invited to join/subscribe to the community by my coordinator, @peterabagi few days ago.

This is actually my first post here in this wonderful community and I'm looking forward to cooperate and be active in every aspect at least within this break.

CC;
@peterabagi
@thebeloved001
@ngoenyi
@samuel20
@focusnow

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

We are glad that you shared with us today. It's pathetic to see strike actions disrupting the flow of education in the country and we hope it would be resolved sooner.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 60938.00
ETH 2386.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57