"Looks Can Be Deceptive."

in Steem4Nigerialast year (edited)

png_20230417_002804_0000.png
source

Introduction

Do not judge a book by its cover is a popular saying I grew up to hear. But we always find ourselves making this mistake even when we know we shouldn't. Thanks to @josepha for bringing up this contest. Let's go through this together.

Tell us about the time you judged by looks and ended up being wrong.

I made this mistake twice. And it's always getting back at me. First time was when I was in secondary school. Before I got to know her, I had a friend that was her friend. Her name is Janet. She wasn't as stylish as I thought her to be because I heard she was good at Mathematics. We were classmates, but not in the same class just yet until we got to our senior secondary levels.
Sometimes, I would see her in school, but not greet her which made us bitter individuals.
When I found out about her being my seatmate in our new class, I was so pissed off, but didn't have a good reason to ask our teacher to pair me with a new seatmate.
I carried on for the first week trying to ignore her. But when the classes resumed fully and teachers came in non-stop, I realised that she was such a sweet soul. She was the smartest in Mathematics classes, while I was the best in English classes. The other subjects were always very competitive for us. Our classmates always admired us for staying together. We became best of friends and would always call in the nights to study. We visited each other in our different homes, and I kept wondering what would've happened if I didn't have her as a friend. I was wrong about her, but I'm glad I was able to correct my mistake or misperception about her at the right time.
We talked about it, and I found out she wanted to talk to me as well, but couldn't because she thought I was a snub.
We just laughed about it, and we graduated together.

Tell us about the time you also judged by looks but ended up being right.

Still another classmate of mine. From her looks to her character and everything about her was just all about pride. I even tried getting close to ber so as not to condemn her or avoid her, but I ended up being insulted which I didn't let that get to me. Friends came around to cheer me up, and that was it with us. But I also found out later that she wasn't who she made everyone think of, she was trying to be somebody else.

Have you ever been judged wrongly or know someone who has been judged wrongly?

I have been judged wrongly on several occasions. And the funny part of it is that, anytime this happens, these same people always find their ways to be around me as true friends. Their main problem with me is that I'm a snub, but when we finally get together as friends, they regret ever thinking of me they way they did.

What lesson did both experiences teach you?

Not to prejudge anyone we don't really know. It is better not to make assumptions that'd end up not being correct. I did this, and in some occasions I was very wrong. I learnt not to prejudge anyone or anything and go on to make conclusions. It's not bad to think about something, or assume or speculate, but it shouldn't be done affirmatively because we barely know the true personality of people we talk about, especially when we don't know them.

Would like to invite @anthony002, @spanky-dollar and @bela90 to participate in this contest.

Sort:  
 last year 

It's good to know you finally came to terms with Janet and also learned from that.

As they say, we learn everyday.

 last year 

Exactly ma'am.
Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57483.44
ETH 2574.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48