**Steem4nigeria Accelerator Contest Week 63:The Lies I Grew Up Believing.

in Steem4Nigeria2 days ago

girl-3402351_1280.jpg
Source

Growing up as a child, I was told a whole lot of lies which I believed, some were totally unnecessary but some were to enhance our safety. However, the form an excellent part of our childhood memories and we have what to look back at and beam a smile. Some of them were too true to be a lie, while some was an obvious lie we couldn't just detect them as kids.

What were the lies you believed while growing up?

Well, a whole lot of lies😂😂, infact hearing them today, I really wonder how I believed such lie. As a child, I was too innocent to detect the lie but growing up, I just recall the lies and laugh because it made childhood fun.

The first lie I can vividly recall is when I was age six and my temporary teeth began to fall off, I was told that I am to throw it to the direction it was in my mouth. Let me use this example, a teeth from my upper gum fell, I was told to throw it to the sky to enhance proper and fast growth, if it's from the lower gum, I was told to bury it on the ground.

sweet-potato-3311745_1280.png
Source

I believed this lie because when my two front teeth in my upper gum fell, I buried it and my teeth took a very long time to grow and people were laughing at me in school, I was told that it was because I buried the teeth, that I was meant to throw it up. I was so sad and tried to trace the ground to where I buried the teeth but it was nowhere to be found. After a very long time, my teeth grew and I was so happy. Since then I abided by the rules strictly so my teeth will grow fast😂.

The second lie I was told was that if I swallow orange seed or any fruit seed, it will grow on my head. I was always so careful when licking orange so I don't have a full tree growing on my head. The day I swallowed a seed by mistake I cried all day till my parents returned, I told my dad and he laughed and said it won't grow but I didn't believe, I was always staring at the mirror each day to know if the tree had started growing 😂.

Another crazy lie was the one I was told that if someone crosses you maybe while passing or something, your children will look like the person. I remember anytime someone crosses me especially a boy I'll tell him to cross back else it will lead to a very serious fight. I also tried not crossing over anybody's leg so someone doesn't born who resembles me😂.

I was also told that if someone points finger at you, your parents will die. I really remember fighting in school because someone pointed finger at me. I told the person not to point at me again so that my parents won't die but she pointed at me again so I picked a fight and beat her mercilessly and I was reported to the school authority. I was so scared because I didn't want anything to happen to my parents, the headteacher told me it was a lie and asked me to apologize to the girl involved.

children-1822701_1280.jpg
Source

There are so many but the last one I'll talk about is the one I was told if someone gives you a knock on the head you won't grow tall. I usually tried to avoid knocks even from my teachers in school, I'll plead they should flog me and not knock me so I be a dwarf. I actually believed because I was wondering why and how someone could naturally be so short but now I know better.

What was your reaction after finding out the truth as an adult?

After finding out It was just mixed feelings, I was happy and I was sad because some of the lies were crazy, like telling me if someone points at me, my parents will die, the lie was so unnecessary.

Some of the lies were necessary like if you go out masquerade will catch you and run away, it made me stay at home all day and never went out. This helped me stay out of danger.

I felt like if I had known better it would have been of advantage and disadvantage, so I'm grateful I was naive then.

Do you subscribe to telling lies to young minds in a bid to protect them or do you choose to call a spade a spade?

To an extent I'll rather call a spade a spade, because when they grow to find out you lied, they may start thinking of what other thing you told them that is a lie and they may not understand it was to protect them. This can go a long way to cause distrust for that person especially a situation where the lie wasn't necessary.

IMG_20240908_082827.jpg

But, the lies that will help protect them is worth being told so I might subscribe to it.

What are the lies you were told in your childhood days, I'll be waiting to read in the comments section, I invite @goodybest, @patjwell, @suboohi and @bossj23 to participate in this contest.

Sort:  
 2 days ago 

I think everyone did believe the seed lie. Even me personally. You've said everything. I also grew up to believe the lie that if a guy touches a lady's hand, that lady would be pregnant immediately. 🤣🤣. These lies were to prevent us from doing certain things sha. Thanks for sharing. I really appreciate

 2 days ago 

Thank you for stopping by, I appreciate 😌

 yesterday 

Thank you for publishing an article in the Steem4nigeria community today. We have assessed your entry and we present the result of our assessment below.

CriteriaRemark
Verified User
#steemexclusive
Plagiarism Free
AI Free
Bot Free
Review Date15/10/2024

Thank you for participating!

Remember to always share your post on Twitter using these 3 main tags #steem #steemit $steem

Hi, Endeavor to join the #Nigeria-trail for more robust support in the community. Click the link Nigeria-trail

Guide to join

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67633.57
ETH 2605.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71