My Neighborhood Watch #8 - Reporting Events Around us.

in Steem4Nigerialast year

00000PORTRAIT_00000_-1199005144_9279~3.jpg

Waking up on a cold Monday morning to the loud incoherent voices from people at a junction not too far from where I stay should be the most frustrating yet intriguing way to start a day.

Brief flashback..
Just like most rural areas around, we had no power supply for what seemed like a century to me, just to me though. For others, it was probably a couple of years which in true sense, should be correct. At a point I almost got use to that way of leaving, no light except for the God-given day light.

We were told different stories from time to time about an ongoing repair of some sort while other times, we were asked to contribute a particular amount of money to buy some equipment which was allegedly needed to fix the light issues. This we did obediently like little children, not because we couldn't do otherwise but because doing otherwise meant no future light for us and this happens to be a topic no one was willing to gamble on, so yes, we complied.

This went on for a couple of years, which I earlier mentioned, seemed like a century to me, until one faithful or should I say lucky Friday evening, we had the surprise of our lives. A pleasant yet unexpected surprise, our transformer was fixed and the power supply was restored.
This was easily the happiest day of that week and since it was on a Friday, we all had plans on how to enjoy and make maximum use of the light during the weekend. Personally, I made a list of what to do just so I don't forget any, I mean, the light is here but who knows for how long...?

Either ways, I had a nice and lightful weekend and I was looking forward to many more of such days until yesterday, Monday.
Though I feared the light might not last for long, I never knew it was going away this soon which brings me back to the beginning...waking up on a cold Monday morning...

BeautyPlus_20220908204845120_save~2.jpg

Back to recent occurrence...
Not being able to ascertain what was happening just from the voices I heard, I decided to step out and stroll a little to the junction where the noise was coming from. Reaching the scene of it, all I could think of was here comes another century of waiting.

Apparently, someone who I will say, lacked human sympathy, was at the verge of doing away with an appliance from the just mounted pole and just repaired transformer when he got electrocuted to death. This brought so much thoughts to my mind, I mean, why take so much risk gambling with your life at a 20% survival chance...now you've been fried to death, what do you tell your creator if you eventually make it to the other side..?

Aside all these, I am more worried about our fate as a community on the issue of power supply. Stories of this incident is still on the lips of many with some cursing him while others, like me, are more concerned about what happens next.
Was the damage extreme enough to give us another century break from light or will it take just a couple of days to put things back on track??

BeautyPlus_20221115182421282_save~2.jpg

As at the time of writing this, I'm still wondering and thinking. I will make sure to let you know if they eventually restore the power supply. For now stay safe and stay away from transformers.... unless you've got a genuine business there.

Thank you @xkool24 for organizing this interactive and creative contest. I'm inviting my friends, @bossj23, @basil20 and @whizzbro4eva to participate and share their various neighborhood experience.

   Thanks for reading my post.
Sort:  
 last year 

People who tried to take away appliances belonging to the community are not doing well. Especially From transformers which are mediums to supply lights to the community. Well he wasn't lucky this time and got electrocuted, maybe other people like him will take caution that trying to steal doesn't always end well.
Nice content from you, I enjoyed reading your neighborhood watch story.

 last year 

No doubt, stealing is a very negative act that should be avoided.
Just like you, I hope this serves as a big warning and also bring an end to this particular act.

Thanks for reading through.

 last year (edited)

This post kind of amuse me in a way. First, I appreciate you for inviting me to this contest of which I'll participate. I understand your plight. My neighboring village has been having light for years and 24/7 light not until their transformer was stolen. They villages contributed money in getting another but was still robbed. They decided to purchase it a third time and make it more secure than ever but was burnt due to an explosion in the circuit. None of the villagers wants to contribute again. Currently speaking, they have been without light for 4 years now. Those who have money mounted solar panels in their homes while others do run generators. I can just imagine myself in a place where there's no light for over 4 years. How do they survive? A day without light sef is like the end of the world for me...😂😂 I hope this issue gets resolved and your light be restored back.

 last year 

I don't blame them for giving up. The issues with transformers could be very frustrating.

You spoke about being able to cope without light for four years....lol.
You wouldn't know what you can do unless you try or in this case, forced to try. I think this is one of those situations that brings up creative ideas.
I'm still waiting for my creative bell to ring, who knows, I might create a portable transformer for everyone or find a way to harness our incessant waste into electricity....lol
For now, let's keep hoping.

Thanks for accepting the invite, I look forward to reading from you.

 last year 

Oh, wow. this is funny and also saddening. Humans are the most difficult creatures on earth. I wondered why I took such a risk. It is also unfortunate if the untimely death, he deserves so his likes don't pollute others around. I hope they restore back the light for you. Goodluck

 last year 

Thank you!

I sincerely hope same.

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60767.97
ETH 2352.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51