Contest: "Looks Can Be Deceptive."

in Steem4Nigerialast year

deceive-1299043__480.pngsource

Looks and Deceptive

Looks as being used here basically refers to one's appearance, your outward demeanor or expression which is seen and understood by others. You could wear different looks at different times like; happy, sad, serious, lost and many others.

Deceptive on the other hand refers to something that is misleading, deceiving or not true.

So "looks can be deceptive" can also translate to "appearance can be misleading".

When I judged Wrongly

I have been guilty of wrong judgement so many times before.

This particular time it was with my brother. He always had this happy vibes and looks that would make you think all was going with him. I was financially down and needed assistant so I reached out to him 'cause I thought was doing great at the time. I got a negative reply from him and concluded he wasn't willing to assist me.
I later found out I was totally wrong, he had lost his job few months back but still looked happy and normal like nothing happened.
I felt bad for not being understanding and judging wrongly.

When I judged rightly

Well, I'm not a good judge of anything at all but I've been right a few times.
My mum isn't one to hide her feelings. If she's sad, you get to see it on her and if she's happy, it's obvious. She came back from work and had a sad face on. For some reason I just didn't believe she was actually sad. I followed her up, asking her questions and disturbing her until she finally said it.."I've been promoted".
LoL, she wanted it to come as a surprise.

When someone was judged Wrongly

I think I notice this more often than not. Right from the unnecessary jungle justice to the little things we do. I witnessed a man being beaten to pulp based on "he looked like the thief".

Heading to school that day, I decided to follow the busy road 'cause it's been long I took that way. Trying to walk my way through people, I heard a lady screaming "thief" and pointing at a man who was so surprised as I was. People around surrounded the innocent man and without questioning, started beating hell outta him.
The police later intervened and when the lady was asked why she thinks he stole from her pocket, her ridiculous reply admist tears was "he looked like the thief".

Lessons I learnt from both experience
  • Never be quick to judge, you don't know what people go through.
  • It's very wrong to act or draw conclusion based on what you think of someone.

Thank you @josepha for organizing this contest. I also want to invite @bossj23 , @vudeme123 and @uduak3287 to participate.

     Thanks for reading my blog.
Sort:  
 last year (edited)
Thank you, @usoro01, for participating in the contest in the Steem4Nigeria community today. We have accessed your article and we present the result of the assessment below.

CriteriaRemark
Verified user
#steemexclusive
Free of Plagiarism
#Clubclub5050
Bot free
Voting CSI10.0 ( 1.35 % self, 74 upvotes, 50 accounts, last 7d )
AI Content Generated free
Grade9/10

  • Reviews: If not for the fact that it's your brother that you judged wrongly you would have been get hot by another person. Nice post.

 last year 

Thanks for reviewing my post.

I've definitely learnt from that incident

 last year 

You have presented a quality post. Sometime we neglect what is important and faced what isn't. I wish you best of luck.

 last year 

That's so true.
Thank you.

 last year 

Looks are indeed deceptive....
Nice entry and wonderful contest.
Wishing you good luck on this contest.

 last year 

Thank you so much

TEAM MILLIONAIRE

Your post has been successfully curated by @kouba01 at 30%.

Vote received for being one of the winners of this contest

Thank you for your committed efforts, we urge you to do more and keep posting high quality participation for a chance to earn valuable upvotes from our team.

 last year 

Thank you @kouba01 for the support.
I'll keep posting quality participation while looking forward to upvotes from your team.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65762.16
ETH 3485.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50